Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Peter Erskine Trio, John Taylor, Palle Danielson - As It Was (2016)

22-08-2016, 11:32
2016 | Jazz | FLAC / APE

Title: As It Was [4 CD]
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: ECM Records [ECM 2490-93]
Genre: Jazz, Post Bop, Contemporary, Progressive Jazz
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue,log,scans)
Total Time: 03:49:45
Total Size: 1,35 GB

The newest addition to ECM’s popular Old and New Masters Series is a box set reprising the four albums made by Peter Erskine’s American-British-Swedish trio with John Taylor and Palle Danielsson between 1992 and 1997: You Never Know, As It Is, Time Being and Juni. If its core concept – a piano led by a drummer – was unorthodox, the group was nonetheless influential, and the recordings provide an excellent environment for appreciating the distinctive writing and playing of John Taylor.

The British pianist was the Erskine Trio’s primary composer, with the drummer-leader and bassist Danielsson also contributing pieces and the repertoire topped up with tunes by Vince Mendoza and Kenny Wheeler. Of his trio mates Erskine says, "We drew out our most explorative and interesting playing from each other. Without trying to be, we were a truly unique group. I’ve heard nothing like it before or since.”


CD 1 - YOU NEVER KNOW (1993)
01. NEW OLD AGE (John Taylor) 09:25
02. CLAPPERCLOWE (John Taylor) 04:51
03. ON THE LAKE (Peter Erskine Trio) 05:03
04. AMBER WAVES (Vince Mendoza) 05:42
05. SHE NEVER HAS A WINDOW (Vince Mendoza) 07:18
06. EVANS ABOVE (John Taylor) 06:16
07. PURE & SIMPLE (John Taylor) 06:35
08. HEART GAME (Vince Mendoza) 05:13
09. EVERYTHING I LOVE (Cole Porter) 07:45

CD 2 - TIME BEING (1994)
01. TERRACES (John Taylor, Palle Danielsson, Peter Erskine) 07:09
02. FOR THE TIME BEING (Peter Erskine) 05:10
03. IF ONLY I HAD KNOWN (Peter Erskine) 06:02
04. EVANSONG (John Taylor) 08:03
05. PAGE 172 (John Taylor) 05:58
06. LITEN VISA TILL KARIN (Staffan Linton) 04:54
07. BULGARIA (Peter Erskine) 04:44
08. AMBLESIDE (John Taylor) 06:34
09. PHRASE ONE (Kenny Wheeler) 05:17
10. PALLE’S HEADACHE (Palle Danielsson) 05:25
11. PIEDS-EN-L’AIR (Peter Warlock) 04:38

CD 3 - AS IT IS (1996)
01. GLEBE ASCENDING (John Taylor) 07:00
02. THE LADY IN THE LAKE (Peter Erskine) 07:59
03. EPISODE (John Taylor) 04:30
04. WOODCOCKS (John Taylor) 07:15
05. ESPERANÇA (Vince Mendoza) 03:59
06. TOUCH HER SOFT LIPS AND PART (William Walton) 04:52
07. AU CONTRAIRE (John Taylor) 10:20
08. FOR RUTH (John Taylor) 06:44
09. ROMEO & JULIET (Peter Erskine) 04:30

CD 4 - JUNI (1999)
01.PRELUDE NO. 2 (John Taylor) 05:34
02.WINDFALL (John Taylor) 06:14
03.FOR JAN (Kenny Wheeler) 06:44
04.THE ANT & THE ELK (Peter Erskine) 07:08
05.SIRI (Palle Danielsson) 06:31
06.FABLE (John Taylor) 05:28
07.TWELVE (Peter Erskine) 07:18
08.NAMASTI (Diane Taylor) 05:28

Peter Erskine Trio, John Taylor, Palle Danielson - As It Was (2016)

Peter Erskine Trio, John Taylor, Palle Danielson - As It Was (2016)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.