Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Donald Runnicles / Atlanta Symphony Orchestra - Carl Orff: Carmina Burana (2001) {SACD}

29-07-2016, 12:33
Classical Music | HD & Vinyl

Title: Carl Orff: Carmina Burana
Year Of Release: 2001
Label: Telarc
Genre: Classical
Quality: SACD (DSD64 2.0, DST64 5.1; Image.iso)
Total Time: 59:28 min
Total Size: 3,56 Gb

Carl Orff's Stravinskian rabble-rouser retains its appeal. The pagan high-jinks, driving rhythms, and dips into semi-hysteria can be irresistible given the right performance. And, of course, with its dynamic range, from delicately colored quiet passages to heaven-storming climaxes, it's tailor-made for showing off hi-fi systems. Telarc is known for its outstanding sound, and this one's well up to the house standards. The performance is a very good one, coming in just under the top choices, of which the venerable Jochum version on DG remains unsinged as number one. But the combination of the recording quality and the superb Atlanta Symphony Chorus won't fail to please. The orchestra is similarly outstanding, with piercing trumpets and terrific playing throughout. Hong's lovely soprano contributions make her the best of the soloists. Olson and Patriarco let the team down slightly in the popular "In the Tavern" section, the former uneasy in his high-flying part as the roasting swan, the latter rough-sounding at times. Runnicles conducts a powerful performance. After a start that underplays the opening movements, he compensates the rest of the way, making more of the quiet sections (a good part of the work) than most. --Dan Davis

Donald Runnicles / Atlanta Symphony Orchestra - Carl Orff: Carmina Burana (2001) {SACD}
Fortuna Imperatrix Mundi
1. O Fortuna - 2:26
2. Fortune plango vulnera 2:33
Primo vere
3. Veris leta facies - 4:05
4. Omnia sol temperat - 2:20
5. Ecce gratum - 2:35

Uf dem Anger
6. Tanz - 3:21
7. Floret silva nobilis - 1:40
8. Chramer, gip die varwe mir - 3:45
9. Reie and Songs - 5:16
10. Were diu werlt alle min - 0:52

In taberna
11. Estuans internus - 2:11
12. Olim lacus colueram - 3:29
13. Ego sum abbas - 1:22
14. In taberna quando sumus - 3:01

Cour d`amours

15. Amor volat undique - 3:09
16. Dies, nox et omnia - 2:17
17. Stetit puella - 1:48
18. Circa mea pectora - 1:52
19. Si puer cum puellula - 0:51
20. Veni, veni, venias - 0:56
21. In trutina - 1:58
22. Tempus est iocundum - 2:19
23. Dulcissime - 0:48

Blanziflor et Helena
24. Ave formosissima - 1:57

Fortuna Imperatrix Mundi
25. O Fortuna - 2:37

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
3 voted

Panhistoricus   User offline   29 July 2016 19:45

Thanks a lot!


  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.