Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Maria Callas - Puccini: Manon Lescaut (1957/2014) [HDTracks]

21-07-2016, 19:52
Classical Music | Oldies | FLAC / APE | HD & Vinyl

Title: Puccini: Manon Lescaut (Callas Remastered)
Year Of Release: 2014 (1957)
Label: Warner Classics
Genre: Classical, Opera
Quality: FLAC (tracks) [24Bit/96kHz]
Total Time: 02:00:45
Total Size: 1,29 GB (d.booklet)

Each act of Puccini's episodic opera shows Manon Lescaut in a different light - from the ingénue of the first to the desperate, dying woman of the last. Though Callas never performed the role on stage, she captures every aspect of this passionate, but selfish and enigmatic character. In this particular Puccini opera, the tenor is by no means overshadowed by the soprano, and Giuseppe di Stefano duly dominates the gripping scene at Le Havre.The young Fiorenza Cossotto - a powerhouse in roles such as Amneris and Eboli - makes a cameo appearance as the Madrigal Singer.

Manon is one of four roles – the others being Nedda, Mimì and Carmen – that Callas recorded without having sung them on stage. This does not seem from her performance to have been any barrier to her accustomed method of plundering both music and text of a role new to her for psychological insights. Such interpretative understanding led Callas to present Manon throughout as the simple country girl. This holds whether she is precisely observing Puccini’s frequent ‘con semplicità’ instruction in Act I, transparently acting her new social position as Geronte’s kept woman, yielding to flaming passion at the return to her life of Des Grieux (both Act II) or dying in the Louisiana desert (Act IV). In this final scena, ‘Sola, perduta, abbandonata’, Callas finds the same uncanny empty tone in her voice that she used for other characters on the verge of death, in particular Mimì and Violetta.


01 - Act 1: "Ave, sera gentile" (Edmondo, Des Grieux, Chorus)
02 - Act 1: "Tra voi, belle, brune e bionde" (Des Grieux, Chorus)
03 - Act 1: "Ma bravo!" (Edmondo, Chorus)
04 - Act 1: "Discendono, vediam!" (Edmondo, Lescaut, L'Oste, Des Grieux, Geronte, Chorus)
05 - Act 1: "Cortese damigella, il priego mio accettate" (Des Grieux, Manon, Lescaut)
06 - Act 1: "Donna non vidi mai" (Des Grieux)
07 - Act 1: "La tua ventura ci rassicura" (Edmondo, Geronte, Lescaut, L'Oste, Chorus)
08 - Act 1: "La tua Proserpina di resisterti" (Edmondo, Des Grieux)
09 - Act 1: "Vedete? Io son fe dele alla parola mia" (Manon, Des Grieux, Lescaut)
10 - Act 1: "Non c'è più vino?" (Des Grieux, Manon, Edmondo, Geronte, L'Oste, Lescaut)
11 - Act 1: "Cavalli pronti avete?" (Lescaut, Geronte, Edmondo, Chorus)

12 - Act 2: "Dispettosetto questo riccio!" (Manon, Lescaut)
13 - Act 2: "Sei splendida e lucente!" (Lescaut, Manon)
14 - Act 2: "In quelle trine morbide" (Manon)
15 - Act 2: "Poichè tu vuoi saper" (Lescaut, Manon)
16 - Act 2: "Che ceffi son costor?" (Lescaut, Manon, Musician, Chorus)
17 - Act 2: "Paga costor!" (Manon, Lescaut)
18 - Act 2: "Vi prego, signorina" (Dancing Master, Geronte, Manon, Chorus)
19 - Act 2: "Oh, sarò la più bella!" (Manon, Des Grieux)
20 - Act 2: "Ah! … Affè madamigella" (Manon, Geronte, Des Grieux)
21 - Act 2: "Ah! Manon, mi tradisce" (Des Grieux, Manon)
22 - Act 2: "Lescaut! … Tu qui?" (Des Grieux, Manon, Lescaut, Sergeant)
23 - Act 2: Intermezzo

24 - Act 3: "Ansia, eterna, crudel" (Des Grieux, Lescaut)
25 - Act 3: "Manon! … Des Grieux!" (Des Grieux, Manon, Lamplighter)
26 - Act 3: "All'armi! All'armi!" (Lescaut, Des Grieux, Manon, Chorus)
27 - Act 3: "Il passo m'aprite" (Sergeant, Commander, Chorus)
28 - Act 3: "Rosetta!" (Sergente, Lescaut, Manon, Des Grieux, Chorus)
29 - Act 3: "Presto in fila! Marciate!" (Sergeant, Des Grieux, Comandante, Chorus)
30 - Act 3: "Ah! non v'avvicinate! … Come io piango ed imploro" (Des Grieux, Commander)
31 - Act 4: "Tutta su me ti posa" (Des Grieux, Manon)
32 - Act 4: "Manon, senti, amor mio! … Vedi, son io che piango" (Des Grieux, Manon)
33 - Act 4: "E nulla! Nulla!" (Des Grieux, Manon)
34 - Act 4: "Sola, perduta, abbandonata" (Manon, Des Grieux)
35 - Act 4: "Fra le tue braccia, amore" (Manon, Des Grieux)

Libretto: Domenico Oliva, Giulio Ricordi, Luigi Illica, Giuseppe Giacosa & Marco Praga after Abbé Prévost.
Recorded: July 18-27, 1957 at Teatro alla Scala, Milan, Italy.
Newly Remastered from the Original Master tapes at Abbey Road Studios, London, U.K.

Maria Callas, soprano (Manon Lescaut)
Giuseppe di Stefano, tenor (Des Grieux)
Giulio Fioravanti, baritone (Lescaut)
Franco Calabrese, bass (Geronte)
Dino Formichini, tenor (Edmondo)
Fiorenza Cossotto, mezzo-soprano (Madrigal singer)

Orchestra and Chorus of La Scala Milan. Conducted by Tullio Serafin. Chorus master: Norberto Mola.

Maria Callas - Puccini: Manon Lescaut (1957/2014) [HDTracks]

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.