Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Maria Callas - Puccini: La Boheme (1956/2014) [HDTracks]

19-07-2016, 22:31
Classical Music | Oldies | FLAC / APE | HD & Vinyl

Title: Puccini: La Bohème (Callas Remastered)
Year Of Release: 2014 (1956)
Label: Warner Classics
Genre: Classical, Opera
Quality: FLAC (tracks) [24Bit/96kHz]
Total Time: 01:45:55
Total Size: 1,10 GB (d.booklet)

Apart from Turondot and Tosca, the operas of Puccini did not figure strongly in the stage repertoire of Maria Callas. She sang Cio-Cio-San in Madama Butterfly only three times in November 1955 in Chicago, and the other Puccini roles not at all. But for her recorded catalogue, she essayed both the eponymous heroine in Manon Lescout and Mimi in La boheme with such complete and deeply felt interpretations that it is hard to believe that she had not already explored the roles in the theatre.
Callas's record company needed to create a catalogue of the standard operatic repertoire for a newly launched classical label in the USA, and La bohème was high on the list of popular titles to be recorded. Tosco had been the first opera that brought Callas a taste of stardom when she sang it a number of times in Greece in the early 1940s, and the role of the tragic diva fitted Callas like a glove both vocally and dramatically. As her career progressed she went on to be incomparable in commanding roles like Norma, Medea and Turandot. But the fragile French seamstress was something altogether different in every respect.
It is a tribute to Callas's instinctive musical and theatrical talents that in studying the role solely for the recording, she was able to delve so deeply into the music and text and find so many telling details that few other sopranos have found to bring out all the charm and pathos of this character. Her portrait of Mimi is complete and moving in the extreme. She is ably supported by a strong cast led by her frequent partner Giuseppe di Stefano in glorious voice as an ardent Rodolfo, who matches Callas in his subtle handling of the score, and together they make an unforgettable pair of unfortunate lovers under the idiomatic conducting of Antonino Votto.


01 - Act 1: "Questo 'Mar Rosso'' (Marcello, Rodolfo, Colline)
02 - Act 1: "Abbasso, abbasso I'autore!" (Marcello, Colline, Rodolfo, Schuanard)
03 - Act 1: "Si può?….Chi è là?" (Benoît, Marcello, Schaunard, Colline, Rodolfo)
04 - Act 1: "Al Quatiere latin ci attende Momus" (Schaunard, Marcello, Rodolfo, Colline)
05 - Act 1: "Non sono in vena" (Rodolfo, Mimì)
06 - Act 1: "Che gelida manina!" (Rodolfo)
07 - Act 1: "Sì. mi chiamano Mimì" (Mimì, Rodolfo)
08 - Act 1: "O soave fanciulla" (Schaunard, Colline, Marcello, Rodolfo, Mimì)

09 - Act 2: "Aranci, datteri!" (Schaunard, Colline, Rodolfo, Mimì, Marcello, Boys, Chorus)
10 - Act 2: "Chi guardi?" (Rodolfo, Colline, Mimì, Schaunard, Marcello, Chorus, Parpignol, Boys)
11 - Act 2: "Beviam…Ch'io beva del tossico!" (Mimì, Marcello, Schaunard, Colline, Rodolfo, Chorus)
12 - Act 2: "Quando me'n vo soletta" (Musetta, Marcello, Alcindoro, Mimì, Rodolfo, Schaunard, Colline)
13 - Act 2: "Chi I'ha richiesto?….Vediam" (Colline, Schaunard, Rodolfo, Boys, Marcello, Chorus, Musetta)

14 - Act 3: "Ohè, là, le guardie…Aprite!" (Choruus, Customs Official, Musetta, Mimì, Sergeant)
15 - Act 3: "Mimì?!…Speravo di trovarvi qui" (Marcello, Mimì)
16 - Act 3: "Marcello. Finalmente" (Rodolfo, Marcello, Mimì)
17 - Act 3: "Donde lieta uscì al tuo grido d'amore" (Mimì)
18 - Act 3: "Dunque è proprio finita?" (Rodolfo, Mimì, Marcello, Musetta)

19 - Act 4: "In un coupé?….Con pariglia e livree" (Marcello, Rodolfo)
20 - Act 4: "O Mimì, tu più non torni" (Rodolfo, Marcello)
21 - Act 4: "Che ora sia?" (Rodolfo, Marcello, Schaunard, Colline)
22 - Act 4: "C'è Mimì…c'e Mimì che mi seque" (Musetta, Rodolfo, Schaunard, Mimì, Marcello)
23 - Act 4: "Vecchia zimarra, senti" (Colline, Schaunard)
24 - Act 4: "Schaunard, ognuno per diversa via" (Colline, Schaunard)
25 - Act 4: "Sono andati?" (Mimì, Rodolfo)
26 - Act 4: "Oh Dio! Mimì!" (Rodolfo, Schaunard, Mimì, Musetta, Marcello, Colline)

Libretto: Giuseppe Giacosa & Luigi Illica after Henri Murger: Scènes de la vie de bohème.
Recorded: August 20–25 & September 3-4, 1956 at Teatro alla Scala, Milan, Italy.
Newly Remastered from the Original Master tapes at Abbey Road Studios, London, U.K.

Maria Callas, soprano (Mimi)
Giuseppe di Stefano, tenor (Rodolfo)
Rolando Panerai, baritone (Marcello)
Anna Moffo, soprano (Musetta)
Nicola Zaccaria, bass (Colline)
Manuel Spatafora, baritone (Schaunard)
Carlo Badioli, bass (Alcindoro/Benoit)

Coro e Orchestra del Teatro alla Scala di Milano. Conducted by Antonino Votto. Chorus master: Norberto Mola.

Maria Callas - Puccini: La Boheme (1956/2014) [HDTracks]

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.