Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Alan Price - Geordie Boy: The Anthology (2008) FLAC

18-07-2016, 20:33
Rock | FLAC / APE

Title: Geordie Boy: The Anthology
Year Of Release: 2008
Label: Sanctuary
Genre: Pop
Quality: FLAC (image + .cue)
Total Time: 02:37:22
Total Size: 913 mb


01. Any Day Now (My Wild, Beautiful Bird) 2:59
02. I Put A Spell On You 3:18
03. Hi-Lili, Hi-Lo 2:48
04. Take Me Home 2:47
05. Getting Mighty Crowded 2:15
06. Simon Smith And His Amazing Dancing Bear 1:49
07. Tickle Me 2:48
08. The House That Jack Built 3:14
09. So Long Dad 2:29
10. To Ramona 3:08
11. Shame 2:48
12. Don't Stop The Carnival 2:30
13. Love Story 2:46
14. The Trimdon Grange Explosion 3:57
15. Sunshine And The Rain (The Name Of The Game) 2:55
16. Rosetta (with Georgie Fame) 2:43
17. Yellow Man (with Georgie Fame) 3:38
18. That's How Strong My Love Is (with Georgie Fame) 5:05
19. O Lucky Man! 2:19
20. Poor People 2:12
21. Jarrow Song 4:38
22. Between Today And Yesterday 4:24
23. In Times Like These 2:34
24. Papers 3:37
25. The Drinker's Curse 4:52

01. Changes 3:16
02. Goodnight Irene 3:50
03. Kiss The Night 2:42
04. Glass Mountain 3:45
05. I Know When I've Had Enough 3:02
06. Shouts Across The Street 2:29
07. I've Been Hurt 3:24
08. Just For You 3:13
09. I'm A Gambler 3:46
10. England, My England 4:57
11. Baby Of Mine 5:29
12. Those Tender Lips 3:52
13. The House Of The Rising Sun 5:20
14. I'm Coming Back 3:19
15. Perfect Lady 3:00
16. Over And Over 2:21
17. Don't Slam That Door 2:36
18. 50 Pence 4:52
19. People Are Talking 2:41
20. Boom Boom 4:48
21. Some Change 5:35

A double-disc anthology of Alan Price? Better hope they've discovered how to cram more than 80 minutes of music on to a CD, then. Of all the artists currently crying out for the big box-set treatment, the former Animal is yowling louder than most. But, in the meantime, this 46-track collection will do nicely, as it swoops across Price's entire solo career, to scoop up every hit, every key album track, and even a couple of rarities, to paint the most vivid picture yet of the man's lengthy, and ever-changing career. From a strictly musical point of view, disc one is where the real meat lies, as it traces Price from his escape from the Animals in 1966, and on through the run of half-a-dozen U.K. hits that established him as the rocky side of the bubblegum pop movement -- songs like "Don't Stop the Carnival" and "Simon Smith and His Amazing Dancing Bear" may be a long way from "Gonna Take You Back to Walker" and so forth, but they evince a driving beat and shout-a-long madness that wholly defied Price's growing reputation as a "family entertainer."
His union with Georgie Fame is highlighted by another hit, "Rosetta," before we lurch into the 1970s, and what looked, at first, like a musical meltdown -- little of what Price threw into the marketplace even dreamed of selling, a drought that peaked when his label of the day, Reprise, brusquely scrapped his 1973 album Savaloy Dip. But Price bounced back with his best-selling LP yet, 1974's Between Today and Yesterday," and scored his first solo hit in six years, the joyous semi-autobiography of "Jarrow Song." Since that time, and across disc two of this collection, hits have remained sporadic (just three more through the 1970s, one in 1988, and nothing since). But Price has continued recording and performing, and there are so many surprises leavened across the latter half of the Geordie Boy: Anthology that even the latter-day remakes of some early Animals numbers pass by without causing offence. And, until the powers that be do give him the full box, Geordie Boy will do very nicely indeed.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
3 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.