Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Dave Nevling - Heady Brew / Sweet Bijou (2004/2012)

27-06-2016, 21:55
Music | Blues

Title: Heady Brew / Sweet Bijou
Year Of Release: 2004/2012
Label: Katastic Records
Genre: Harmonica Blues, Texas Blues
Quality: 320 kbps
Total Time: 108:47
Total Size: 260 MB

01. You The One (6:29)
02. Dip My Wick (5:02)
03. I Can't Pretend (4:50)
04. Jonina (5:03)
05. It Ain't Love (6:45)
06. Only You (3:53)
07. In And Out (3:31)
08. Our Separate Ways (5:18)
09. You Wrong For That (2:53)
10. Sweet Thing (6:52)
11. Leon's Bbq (3:12)
12. Front Porch Boogie (3:14)

I'll be the first to admit I'm not as on-the-ball as I used to be and chances are I would've been ranting and raving about this Texas Blues Harmonica king a lot earlier, but we'll settle for getting hip in 2003/4. His last disc, "Deadly Nightshade" was truly a mind blower. There are hordes of heavy-breathing harpmeisters out there, but having been raised on Slim Harpo, Alan Wilson, James Harman, and King Biscuit Boy(hey, what a 4-some!); I'm both spoiled and enlightened. Out of 426 harpists making a living in 2004 perhaps 19 turn my crank and Mr. Nevling is in the top 5. What was it about ""Nightshade" that had us so knocked out? Well, how about this for a combination; exceptionally melodic/creative blowing, nice tone, wonderful original material, an appealing voice/vocals, a typical superstar Texas backup crew in support (stunning guitar!), and really fine production and sound. Not bad, eh? How does "Heady" compare? Let's just say it's an extension of "Nightshade" in every way, so that means it's a killer-diller! (Perhaps progression is a more appropriate term), David told me, a couple of months back, "Matt Johnson isn't playing on this new one, but I think you'll dig our new guy, Adam Burchfield." Hey, he was right! Something in the water down there has 5 thousand pickers all playing perfect Blues guitar and Burchfield sounds like he was raised on a strict diet of nasty Texas boogie(his solo on "Jonina" got 4 repeat listenings and a "Wow!) All 12 tunes are Nevling originals and each and every one is a smoker. "You the One" is a Chicago shuffle at a tempo perfect for all those Shaggers in North Carolina. Bob Armour lays down a tine shuffle beat on the drums. "Dip My Wick" is a song of regret (of course) where Dave pays some painful consequences for sampling(musicians might not relate to this tune, being the chaste-type characters the are.....ha!) "I Can't Pretend" is an atmospheric piece slowed down a trifle with beautiful picking from Adam. It's a tune about being played for a fool(knife-in-the-back stuff)that's simply stunning for the harp solo from Nevling. "Jonina" rocks the boogie with an infectious beat, Chicago-style 1950's for "It Ain't Love"(a sure hit in Myrtle Beach, N.C.) and "Only You" is another knockout shuffle for Shaggers to relish. Nevling has the smoothest voice in Texas and the fattest harp tone anywhere(wonder what mike he uses?). Melodic, heavy harp a la Big Walter just flows from this guy and the instrumental "In and Out" is a nice, simple but powerful piece that shows off Nevling's reed ability perfectly, and Adam smokes a wild guitar solo. "Sweet-Thing" is a killer-diller, slow burner that shows Nevling's pipes off perfectly and "Leon's BBQ" is a fun New Orleans style swinger that will have dance floors packed. Closing off is the killer-diller, "Front Porch Boogie" that reminds us of "Whammer Jammer" for its harp shuffling-nice. So, here we have it, Dave Nevling has delivered another Killer Texas harp Blues Masterpiece and the level of music and talent requires us to lay out 5 Big Lone Star Bottles. Dave Nevling has little real competition when it comes to exciting, pure Blues harp blowing , singing and song writing. Check him out.-Andy Grigg

Dave Nevling - Heady Brew / Sweet Bijou (2004/2012)

01. She's All That (5:10)
02. Upside (4:07)
03. Lenora (7:16)
04. Sweet Bijou (4:21)
05. Vieux Carre (4:13)
06. Drink You Away (3:35)
07. Josiah (5:25)
08. Connie's Cafe (4:31)
09. Night Into Day (4:26)
10. I Need Love (4:30)
11. Sancho (4:00)

In my latest release "Sweet Bijou" i have included alot of different grooves Slow Blues, Swing, Shuffles, Cajun, Zydeco, a Ballad and a instrumental with a fast Bossa Nova groove titled Sancho. The themes are varied as well. The title track "Sweet Bijou" is about a man very much in love but unfortunately she doesn't feel the same way. "Josiah" is about a young Houston man sentenced to 25 years in prison for a rape he didn't commit. The Innocence Project in Houston took up the case and he was released after serving 4-1/2 years. All my Songs are originals hope you like them. ~Dave Nevling

My Blog
For requests/re-ups, please send me private message.

Heady Brew
Uploaded | Turbobit | Hitfile
Sweet Bijou
Uploaded | Turbobit | Hitfile

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted

asmodi   User offline   28 June 2016 06:56

Thanks for upload with upload 1

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.