Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Arianna Savall, Petter Udland Johansen - Hirundo Maris - Chants du Sud et du Nord (2012) Hi-Res

31-08-2016, 16:41
Classical Music | HD & Vinyl

Title: Hirundo Maris - Chants du Sud et du Nord
Year Of Release: 2012
Label: ECM New Series
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (tracks) 24/44,1
Total Time: 01:19:43
Total Size: 780 Mb


01 El Mestre 06:33
02 Buenas Noches 05:49
03 Ya Salió de la Mar 02:36
04 Om Kvelden 04:38
05 El Mariner 06:14
06 Le Chant Des Étoiles 03:44
07 Morena Me Llaman 06:10
08 Bendik og Årolilja 07:01
09 Ormen Lange 02:50
10 Tarantela 04:46
11 The Water Is Wide 05:24
12 El Noi de la Mare 03:32
13 Josep i Maria 03:28
14 Penselstrøk 05:19
15 Halling 02:53
16 Yo M'enamorí D'un Aire 05:35
17 Trollmors vuggesang 03:13

Arianna Savall: voice, Gothic harp, Italian triple harp
Petter Udland Johansen: voice, hardingfele, mandolin
Sveinung Lilleheier: guitar, Dobro, voice
Miquel Àngel Cordero: double-bass, voice
David Mayoral: percussion, voice

Hirundo Maris is dedicated to the memory of Montserrat Figueras, the legendary advocate, researcher, and performer of Renaissance and Baroque music, particularly that of the Mediterranean basin, who died in 2011, after the album was recorded but before it was released. It features her daughter, singer and harpist Arianna Savall, in arrangements of folk repertoire from the Catalan, Sephardic, Norwegian, and Scottish traditions. The title, Latin for Sea Swallow, refers to the centrality of the sea in all these traditions, and its subtitle, "Songs of South and North," to the connections between the traditions that sea facilitated, connections that are evident in the similarities between the songs. Savall and singer Petter Udland Johansen, who also plays a Hardanger fiddle and mandolin, made most of the arrangements, and are joined by Sveinung Lilleheier, guitar, dobro, and voice; Miquel Àngel Cordero, double bass and voice; and David Mayoral, percussion and voice.

Savall has a pleasing, sweet, pure voice, not as expansive or as penetrating as that of her mother (to whom she bears a striking physical resemblance), but especially well suited to this folk-style repertoire. She and the other singers perform these evocative, melancholy songs with clear, focused tone and terrific intonation, and with the unmannered directness of folk singers. The tone of most of the songs is understated but poignantly yearning, and that mood is beautifully expressed in the delicacy and sensitivity of the performances. The accompaniments are lovely and simple but sophisticated; they reflect Savall's lifetime exposure to her parents' disciplined and lively approaches to early music interpretation and its relation to folk traditions. The sound of the ECM New Series album, produced by Manfred Eicher, is characteristically immaculate and natural. The recording should appeal not only to fans of international folk music but of historically informed performances of early vocal music for which Savall's family is famous.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 20
1 voted

bestpiano   User offline   27 June 2016 06:59


  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.