Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Leonard Bernstein - Copland: Appalachian Spring; Rodeo; Billy the Kid; Fanfare for the Common Man (1987)

14-06-2016, 17:25
Classical Music | FLAC / APE

Title: Copland: Appalachian Spring; Rodeo; Billy the Kid; Fanfare for the Common Man
Year Of Release: 1987
Label: CBS Masterworks
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (log,image+cue)
Total Time: 01:05:33
Total Size: 309 Mb


01. Fanfare for the Common Man
02. Appalachian Spring: Very slowly
03. Appalachian Spring: Allegro
04. Appalachian Spring: Moderato
05. Appalachian Spring: Fast
06. Appalachian Spring: Sub. Allegro
07. Appalachian Spring: As at first (slowly)
08. Appalachian Spring: Doppio movimento (Shaker Melody "The Gift to be Simple")
09. Rodeo: I - Buckaroo Holiday
10. Rodeo: II - Corral Nocturne
11. Rodeo: III - Saturday Night
12. Rodeo: IV - Hoe-Down
13. Billy the Kid: Introduction: The Open Prairie
14. Billy the Kid: Street in a Frontier Town
15. Billy the Kid: Mexican Dance and Finale
16. Billy the Kid: Parie Night (Card Game at Night)
17. Billy the Kid: Gun Battle
18. Billy the Kid: Celebration (After Billy's Capture)
19. Billy the Kid: Billy's Death
20. Billy the Kid: The Open Prairie Again

More than any other conductor, Bernstein strenuously campaigned for Copland's work and generously helped secure the composer's enormous and lasting popularity. One may still find Bernstein's bravura interpretations less than satisfying, for they are brusque and a little hurried, and the New York Philharmonic is at times too scrappy and pugnacious, even for these rugged pieces of Americana. Yet the four dances from Rodeo, the suite from Billy the Kid, and Fanfare for the Common Man (extracted from the Symphony No. 3) are hard to imagine without some populist roughness around the edges, and any lack of subtlety is compensated by the performers' abundant enthusiasm. Nowhere is their gusto more apparent than in "Hoe-Down," one of the highlights of this disc. However, Appalachian Spring, a tender and evocative work, is rather hard-edged, and some listeners may prefer Copland's 1970 recording on CBS as a gentler alternative. These performances, recorded from 1960 to 1967, have been remixed to improve Columbia's original sound.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 80
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.