Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Hans Otte - Das Buch Der Klänge / The Book Of Sounds (1984)

Title: Das Buch Der Klänge / The Book Of Sounds
Year Of Release: 1984
Label: Kuckuck
Genre: Modern Classical, New Age
Quality: FLAC (tracks)
Total Time: 01:11:17
Total Size: 202 Mb


01. Part 1 08:41
02. Part 2 07:56
03. Part 3 05:54
04. Part 4 04:29
05. Part 5 08:28
06. Part 6 03:17
07. Part 7 08:44
08. Part 8 04:33
09. Part 9 03:44
10. Part 10 05:57
11. Part 11 04:59
12. Part 12 04:35

Composer, Piano [Steinway] – Hans Otte

Written between 1979 and 1982 after a multi-day retrospective of his entire oeuvre at the Baden-Baden Festival, The Book of Sounds is Otte's attempt to wipe out his own history, to begin with a tabula rasa from a place of nowhere and nothing --except the present moment and the relationship of sounds to that moment, because of what they are in themselves. If this sounds a lot like John Cage, it is no doubt his influence that hovers over these proceedings. But the methodology is different. Otte's training could not help but be brought into play here; his sheer pianism (he studied with both Paul Hindemith and Walter Giesseking) touches not only upon his historical relationships, but his ideas about how simply he regards the piano as a an instrument of transcription, of delivery: simple, clean, immediate. The floating harmonies, which are the result of unresolved unions of majors and minors in interaction with one another without dissonance, are hauntingly beautiful. The sense of pushing a note or a series of small chords into one another before allowing space to reclaim them is another hallmark of the work. In this way, without just intonation at its base, it relates in feeling and unfickle sonance to LaMonte Young's The Well-Tuned Piano. This is deeply moving, mysterious piano music, like the Rosicrucian works of Satie or the later preludes by Debussy, or, in some ways, the Nocturnes by Chopin, without their reliance on strict harmonic resolution, but in their convocation of intention and fascination with the mystery of sonic interrelationships.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 20
1 voted

jojo5   User offline   13 June 2016 11:48

Thank you ver much!

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.