Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Cardinall's Musick & Andrew Carwood - Tallis: Ave, rosa sine spinis (2015)

8-06-2016, 18:59
Classical Music | FLAC / APE

Title: Tallis: Ave, rosa sine spinis
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Hyperion
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC
Total Time: 1:13:41
Total Size: 668 MB


1. O Salutaris Hostia
2. Wipe Away My Sins
3. Why Fum'th in Fight
4. Ave, Rosa Sine Spinis
5. Blessed Be Thy Name
6. Te Lucis Ante Terminum I
7. In Manus Tuas, Domine
8. Te Lucis Ante Terminum II
9. Salvator Mundi II
10. O Come in One to Praise the Lord
11. When Jesus Went Into Simon the Pharisee's House
12. Euge Caeli Porta
13. Gloria
14. Credo
15. Sanctus
16. Benedictus
17. Agnus Dei
18. Laudate Dominum
19. Miserere Nostri

The Cardinall's Musick and their inspirational director Andrew Carwood present a further volume of their Gramophone-award winning series of Tallis's sacred music.

This new album contains some of the most sublime music of the entire period, performed with The Cardinall's Musick's familiar committed, full-blooded and beautiful singing. In including both Tallis's English and Latin settings, it demonstrates the composer's mastery of the changing edicts imposed on him from above in this turbulent time.

Informative and scholarly booklet notes by Andrew Carwood place the music in its historical and liturgical context.

The Mass is a world away from the votive antiphon, exemplified here by the early Ave, rosa sine spinis. the Cardinall's musick respond with poise and precision; and they are equally at home in the settings from Archbishop Parker's psalter, where a forthright unanimity is required. A welcome issue; and it s always nice to know that there's more to come. --Gramophone, Jan'15

This last piece (Miserere nostri) really brings out the best in the choir, which shows an intelligent sense of direction and a liveliness of execution. Performance **** Recording ***** --BBC Music Magazine, Mar '15

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted

mondzeichen   User offline   13 June 2016 18:54

Thank You for sharing! I missed this album! :-)

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.