Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Lee Wiley - Sings The Songs Of Rodgers & Hart And Harold Arlen

26-08-2016, 10:24
Jazz | Vocal Jazz

Title: Sings The Songs Of Rodgers & Hart And Harold Arlen
Year Of Release: 1980
Label: Audiophile
Genre: Jazz / Vocal Jazz
Quality: Mp3 / 320kbps
Total Time: 48:14 min
Total Size: 106 MB

01. Baby's Awake Now
02. Here In My Arms
03. You Took Advantage Of Me
04. A Little Birdie Told Me So
05. A Ship Without A Sail
06. I've Got Five Dollars
07. Glad To Be Unhappy
08. As Though You Were There
09. Let's Fall In Love
10. Moanin' In The Mornin'
11. Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea
12. Stormy Weather
13. Down With Love
14. I've Got The World On A String
15. Fun To Be Fooled
16. You Said It

Lee Wiley pioneered the "songbook" concept, for which a singer exclusively interpreted the work of one composer. Her Gershwin and Cole Porter projects of 1939-40 were major successes, as is the music on this Audiophile reissue. In a fairly straight but strangely sensuous manner, Wiley sings eight songs apiece by Rodgers & Hart and Harold Arlen while backed by a variety of all-star players associated with Eddie Condon, including pianist Joe Bushkin, trumpeters Max Kaminsky, Billy Butterfield and Bobb Hackett, tenor saxophonist Bud Freeman, and Ernie Caceres on baritone and clarinet. Although many of these songs have been interpreted countless times since, few singers have reached the emotional peaks that Lee Wiley scaled in her versions of "A Ship Without a Sail," "Let's Fall In Love," "I've Got the World On a String," "Down With Love" and especially "Glad to Be Unhappy." This set (along with the previous one) belongs in every serious jazz collection. ~Scott Yanow

Turbobit: Download

Uploaded: Download

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.