Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Orange Juice - Rip It Up [Expanded & Remastered] (2010)

19-10-2016, 19:15
Pop | Rock | Indie | FLAC / APE

Title: Rip It Up
Year Of Release: 2010 [1982]
Label: Domino
Genre: Pop Rock, New Wave, Post-punk, Indie, Sophisti-Pop
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks +.cue,log)
Total Time: 1:13:10
Total Size: 176 mb / 516 mb

After releasing their first album in February of 1982, Orange Juice were struck with their usual batch of bad luck. First drummer Steven Daly and guitarist James Kirk, whose songwriting efforts were crucial to the band, left; then the label pressed them to follow up with a new album as soon as possible in order to cash in on their fading buzz. After adding ex-Josef K guitarist Malcolm Ross and drummer Zeke Manyika, they headed back to the studio and Rip It Up was released a mere ten months later. The album reflected the lineup change and quick turnaround quite a bit. In the search for material, Manyika contributed two songs with an Afro-pop influence ("A Million Pleading Faces" and "Hokoyo") and Ross brought a sprightly song he wrote while in Josef K ("Turn Away"), and while they are all good efforts, they don't measure up to Kirk's contributions. Edwyn Collins went back to a couple old songs and revamped them for the album, turning "Breakfast Time" into a weirdly reggae-influenced ballad and "Louise Louise" into a jaunty, jazz-influenced trifle. He also took a song from the very earliest incarnation of the band as the Nu-Sonics and stretched it out into the overly long "Tenterhook." So far not the makings of a great album, but the rest of the songs turn the tables almost completely. "Mud in Your Eye" is a sweet little soul crooner with heartfelt guest vocals from Paul Quinn, "Flesh of My Flesh" is a bouncy tropical pop song that shows Haircut 100 how it really should be done, and "I Can't Help Myself" gives the Four Tops a run for their money in the hooks department. Best of all is the title track, a timeless indie dance classic that rode an impossibly catchy synth bassline, infectious handclaps, and one of Collins' best lyric/melody combos right to the top of the charts. Despite these moments of genius, the album is an uneven and frustrating listen that proves you can't rush a band into making great art. And despite the frustrating nature of the album, Rip It Up is definitely still worth checking out for the moments of brilliance and the overall sound Orange Juice deliver even in their weakest moments.


01. Rip It Up
02. A Million Pleading Faces
03. Mud In Your Eye
04. Turn Away
05. Breakfast Time
06. I Can't Help Myself
07. Flesh Of My Flesh
08. Louise Louise
09. Hokoyo
10. Tenterhook
11. Rip It Up (12-Inch Version)
12. Snake Charmer
13. Lovesick (Re-Recording)
14. Flesh Of My Flesh (7-Inch Version)
15. Lord John White And The Bottleneck Train (12-Inch Version)
16. Flesh Of My Flesh (12-Inch Version)
17. All That Ever Mattered

Edwyn Collins – guitar, vocals, violin, songwriting
Malcolm Ross – guitar, vocals, keyboards, songwriting
David McClymont – bass guitar, keyboards
Zeke Manyika – drums, vocals, percussion, songwriting

Dick Morrissey - saxophone
Martin Drover - flugelhorn
Martin Hayles - piano, synthesizer
Mel Gaynor - percussion
Louise Waddle - handclaps
Gavin Wright - violin
Paul Quinn - vocals

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 80
5 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.