Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - More Oar: A Tribute To The Skip Spence Album (1999)

22-05-2016, 10:11
Blues | Folk | Alternative | FLAC / APE

Title: More Oar: A Tribute To The Skip Spence Album
Year Of Release: 1999
Label: Birdman Records
Genre: Folk Rock, Alternative Rock, Country Rock, Blues Rock
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue,scans)/320
Total Time: 73:56
Total Size: 415/170 MB


01. Robert Plant - Little Hands
02. Mark Lanegan - Cripple Creek
03. Alejandro Escovedo - Diana
04. Durocs - MargaretTiger Rug
05. Jay FarrarSir Omaha Quintet - Weighted Down (The Prison Song)
06. Mudhoney - War in Peace
07. Robyn Hitchcock - Broken Heart
08. Diesel Park West - All Come to Meet Her
09. Tom Waits - Books of Moses
10. Greg Dulli - Dixie Peach Promenade (Yin for Yang)
11. Ophelias - Lawrence of Euphoria
12. Flying Saucer Attack - Grey - Afro
13. Alistair Galbraith - This Time He Has Come
14. Engine 54 - It's the Best Thing for You
15. Outrageous Cherry - Keep Everything Under Your Hat
16. Beck - Halo of Gold
17. The Minus 5 - Doodle

1999's More Oar pays tribute to one of psychedelia's brightest lights, Skip Spence. His 1969 album Oar is a psych-folk classic, as well as a collector's item, ranking as one of Columbia's lowest-selling albums when it was originally released. This tribute marks the 30th anniversary of Oar's release and features performances from Spence fans as prominent as Robert Plant, Beck, and Tom Waits, and as underground as the Minus Five, Flying Saucer Attack, and Outrageous Cherry.
More Oar explores the folk, country, and rock elements of the original, ranging from Robert Plant's hushed, acoustic "Little Hands" to the smorgasbord of samples on Beck's "Halo Of Gold." Mudhoney's "War in Peace" and Outrageous Cherry's "Keep It All Under Your Hat" deliver straight-up garage-psych, while the Durocs "Margaret Tiger-Rug" and the Ophelias' "Lawrence of Euphoria" explore the vaudevillian side of psychedelia. Flying Saucer Attack and Alistair Galbraith deliver two of the most darkly acid-tinged tracks on the album, "Grey-Afro" and "This Time He Has Come;" the Minus 5's "Doodle" and Diesel Park West's "All Come yo Meet Her" the sunnier side of psychedelia. Though More Oar was intended as a tribute to the landmark album, Spence's death earlier in the year adds even more significance to this heartfelt, eclectic homage.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.