Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Free - Songs Of Yesterday (5CD BoxSet) (2000)

10-05-2016, 09:23
Blues | Rock | FLAC / APE

Title: Songs Of Yesterday
Year Of Release: 2000
Label: Island
Genre: Blues Rock
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue)
Total Time: 05:59:08
Total Size: 2,21 Gb


CD 1:
01. Over The Green Hills (A New Stereo Mix) 3:30
02. Walk In My Shadow (Alternative Stereo Mix) 3:37
03. Wild Indian Woman (A New Stereo Mix) 3:45
04. Guy Stevens Blues (Previously Unreleased) 4:42
05. Visions Of Hell (Previously Unreleased) 3:55
06. I'm A Mover (Unused Mono 7' Mix) 2:59
07. Moonshine (Alternative Stereo Mix) 5:11
08. Woman By The Sea (Previously Unreleased) 3:23
09. Free Me (Previously Unreleased) 4:39
10. Long Tall Sally (Previously Unreleased) (Johnson, Penniman, Blackwell) 1:18
11. Broad Daylight (Original 7' Mono Mix) 3:12
12. The Worm (Original 7' B-Side) 3:07
13. Trouble On Double Time (Previously Unreleased) 2:40
14. Spring Dawn (Previously Unreleased) 4:10
15. I'll Be Creepin' (Previously Unreleased) 3:40
16. Sugar For Mr. Morrison (A New Stereo Mix) 3:22
17. Songs Of Yesterday (A New Stereo Mix) 3:39
18. Woman (Previously Unreleased) 3:43
19. Mourning Sad Morning (Alternative Stereo Mix) 5:04
20. Fire And Water (Alternative Stereo Mix) 4:10

CD 2:
01. All Right Now (Previously unreleased) 3:31
02. Oh I Wept (New stereo mix) 4:32
03. Remember (New stereo mix) 4:30
04. Don't Say You Love Me (New stereo mix) 6:27
05. The Stealer (Full version) 4:33
06. The Highway Song (Alternative stereo mix) 4:18
07. On My Way (Alternative stereo mix) 4:08
08. Sunny Day (New stereo mix with different vocals) 3:15
09. Ride On A Pony (Alternative stereo mix) 4:21
10. Love You So (New stereo mix with alternative vocals) 4:57
11. Soon I Will Be Gone (Previously unreleased) 3:19
12. My Brother Jake (New stereo mix) 3:01
13. Makin' Love (Only My Soul) (Previously unreleased) 4:00
14. Rain (Previously unreleased) 3:54
15. Get Where I Belong (Previously unreleased) 4:23
16. Only My Soul (Original 7' B-side) 2:30
17. Travellin' Man (Alternative stereo mix) 3:41
18. Molten Gold (Previously unreleased) 6:09

CD 3:
01. Little Bit Of Love (Alternative Mix) 2:37
02. Soldier Boy (Alternative Mix) 2:55
03. Sail On (Previously unreleased) 3:23
04. Guardian Of The Universe (Previously unreleased) 7:06
05. Child (Alternative Mix) 5:19
06. Honky Tonk Women (Previously unreleased) 3:14
07. Lady (Previously unreleased) 4:40
08. Muddy Water (Previously unreleased) 3:50
09. Heartbreaker (Live Version) 5:44
10. Wishing Well (Previously unreleased) 3:41
11. Let Me Show You (Previously unreleased) 6:06
12. Let Me Show You {Original 7inch B-Side} 3:04
13. Muddy Water (Alternative Mix) 4:17
14. Common Mortal Man (Alternative Mix) 4:29
15. Heartbreaker (Alternative Mix) 6:28
16. Seven Angels (Alternative Mix) 4:59

CD 4:
01. Ride On A Pony (Live) (Previously Unreleased) 5:34
02. Be My Friend (Live) (Previously Unreleased) 6:17
03. Fire And Water (Live) (Previously Unreleased) 4:02
04. The Stealer (Live) (Previously Unreleased) 3:53
05. Don't Say You Love Me (Live) (Previously Unreleased) 5:56
06. Mr. Big (Live) (Previously Unreleased) 6:27
07. I'll Be Creepin' (Live) 4:33
08. Free Me (Live) (Previously Unreleased) 6:39
09. Woman (Live) (Previously Unreleased) 4:19
10. I'm A Mover (Live) (Previously Unreleased) 3:44
11. Walk Iin My Shadow (Live) (Previously Unreleased) 4:18
12. Songs Of Yesterday (Live) (Previously Unreleased) 5:09
13. All Right Now (Live) (Previously Unreleased) 7:30
14. Crossroads (Live) 6:37

CD 5:
1. Paul Rodgers And The Maytals - (I Just Wanna) See You Smile (Previously Unreleased) 3:11
2. Peace - Like Water (Previously Unreleased) 4:35
3. Peace - Zero BC (Previously Unreleased) 5:39
4. Sharks - Ol'Jelly Roll (Alternative 7inch Mix) 2:40
5. Sharks - Follow Me (Alternative 7inch Mix) 3:03
6. KKTR - Fool's Life (Previously Unreleased) 4:18
7. KKTR - I'm On The Run (Previously Unreleased) 4:37
8. KKTR - Sammy's Alright (Previously Unreleased) 4:09
9. KKTR - Hold On (A New Stereo Mix) (5:38)
10. Rabbit - Tuesday Williamsburg (Previously Unreleased) 2:59
11. Rabbit - Unseen Love (Previously Unreleased) 4:35
12. Paul Kossoff/John Martyn - Time Spent (Time Away) (Previously Unreleased) (Full Version) 18:17

It's strange that a band with a song as immediate as "All Right Now" is a bit of an acquired taste, but it's the truth. Free was a powerful, majestic hard rock band at their peak, but they were also a little obtuse; a lot of their power came from their playing, and their songwriting was epic, but often elliptical. As such, they're for hard rock connoisseurs -- a band who gained a spirited, dedicated following largely because they took devotion to unlock their treasures, especially in the years following their breakup. For those fans, the five-disc Songs of Yesterday is a godsend. This is not a box for listeners with less than a consuming interest in the band (even if you think you want total immersion in Free, this will not be as effective as purchasing each of their albums) since this contains a wealth of unreleased material. Very few of the tracks are actual album tracks, most are alternate mixes or alternate versions, plus there are a lot of live tracks in the mix, as well. As long as you know what you're getting into, this isn't bad, especially since it refurbishes the band's canon for the dedicated, giving them fresh insights to familiar songs (even if the new mixes aren't necessarily better than the originals -- they just sound a bit brighter and more modern). For anyone else, it's a bit much, and it doesn't quite tell the story in the right fashion, since it really offers a mirror image, alternate version rather than the real thing.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
4 voted

oladiladio   User offline   13 May 2016 10:43

At Uploaded:

The requested file isn't available anymore!

8 Please reupload!!

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.