Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Crawler - Live At My Fathers Place + Studio Tracks (Feat. Paul Kossoff) (2010)

28-04-2016, 14:36
Blues | Rock

Title: Live At My Fathers Place + Studio Tracks (Feat. Paul Kossoff)
Year Of Release: 2010
Label: Singing Donkey Records
Genre: Rock/Blues
Quality: MP3 320 Kbps
Total Time: 70:13
Total Size: 165 MB

1. Without You Babe (Live) (3:41)
2. You Got Money (Live) (3:30)
3. Keep On Running (Live) (5:06)
4. You And Me (Live) (6:05)
5. Pastime Dreamer (Live) (4:11)
6. Never Loved A Woman (Live) (4:19)
7. Worn Out Dream (Live) (3:47)
8. Stone Cold Sober (Live) (7:11)
9. Stop Doing What Your'e Doing (Studio) (3:16)
10. Just For You (Studio) (6:14)
11. Leaves In The Wind (Studio) (5:08)
12. You Are My Saviour (Studio) (4:41)
13. Stone Cold Sober (Studio) (5:33)
14. Muddy Wate (Studio) (3:20)
15. You And Me (Studio) (4:06)

The ashes of the blues-rock might that was once Free are down to flickering embers on this previously unissued live set by Crawler, a spin-off of Back Street Crawler (who were themselves a spin-off of Free). Many of the songs in this show were taken from their debut album, though there are also selections from a solo Rabbit Bundrick LP, Back Street Crawler's 2nd Street, and two cuts ("Keep on Running" and "Worn Out Dream") that Crawler never released on their 1970s albums. It's treadmill, sometimes yawn-inducing journeyman bluesy British hard rock. By the standards of that genre, it has some pluses. Singer Terry Wilson-Slesser has the requisite husky, macho tones, yet, unlike most such frontmen, he doesn't overdo the histrionics. Well-traveled keyboardist John "Rabbit" Bundrick gets into occasional imaginative electronics, particularly on the long track "Blue Soul." The band's a little more serious and downbeat in general than most of their like-minded competition from the period. It still isn't an interesting record, though the sound is good. Its appeal to committed fans is guaranteed by the inclusion of detailed historical liner notes by Free Appreciation Society head David Clayton.

Former Free guitarist Paul Kossoff called his 1973 solo album Back Street Crawler, then formed a group of the same name in 1975. It featured singer Terry Wilson-Slessor, keyboard player Mike Montgomery, bassist Terry Wilson, and drummer Tony Braunagel. This lineup made The Band Plays On, but Kossoff died of an apparent heart attack (March19, 1976). Nevertheless, there was a second album, 2nd Street, after which the band reorganized; Montgomery departed and was replaced by John "Rabbit" Bundrick, guitarist Geoff Whiteborn was added, and the name was changed to Crawler. They released a third self-titled album in 1977 and a final LP, Snake, Rattle and Roll, in 1978.

In 1973, when Free disbanded, their guitarist Paul Kossoff returned to the studio to complete a solo album which was titled Back Street Crawler. He was heavily into a drug dependency at the time and it wasn?t until early 1975 that he cleaned up and returned to form a group of the same name. The original lineup featured Terry Wilson-Slessor (formerly of progressive rock band Beckett) on vocals. The keyboard player Mike Montgomery, bassist Terry Wilson, and drummer Tony Braunagel had worked together previously in the band Bloontz.

This lineup recorded The Band Plays On, prior to Kossoff?s death from a heart attack while on a flight to New York in March 1976. A follow-up album, 2nd Street which featured sessions with Paul recorded in Los Angeles was released in early 1976. Before recording began for this album, Montgomery departed and was replaced by John "Rabbit" Bundrick (who coincidentally had previously played with Paul in Kossoff Kirke Tetsu Rabbit and also filled in with Free during their tour of Japan in 1972 when Paul had been too ill to play. Guitarist Geoff Whitehorn was added, and the name was changed to Crawler. They released two albums, Crawler in 1977 and Snake Rattle & Roll in 1978 before disbanding.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.