Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Glenn Gould - Bach: Partitas Nos. 5 & 6 (2015) HDtracks

15-04-2016, 10:22
Classical Music | FLAC / APE | HD & Vinyl

Title: Bach: Partitas Nos. 5 & 6
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Sony Music
Genre: Classical, Piano
Quality: FLAC (tracks) [24bit-44.1kHz]
Total Time: 0:40:44
Total Size: 345 Mb


Partita for keyboard No. 5 in G major, BWV 829 (BC L5)
01. 1. Praeambulum
02. 2. Allemande
03. 3. Courante
04. 4. Sarabande
05. 5. Tempo di Minuetto
06. 6. Passepied
07. 7. Gigue

The Well-Tempered Clavier Book II
08. Prelude and Fugue, for keyboard No. 14 in F sharp minor, BWV 883 (BC L117)
09. Prelude and Fugue, for keyboard No. 9 in E major, BWV 878 (BC L112): Fugue

Partita for keyboard No. 6 in E minor, BWV 830 (BC L6)
10. 1. Toccata
11. 2. Allemande
12. 3. Courante
13. 4. Air
14. 5. Sarabande
15. 6. Tempo di Gavotta
16. 7. Gigue

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) - Composer
Glenn Gould (1932-1982) - Piano

Oddly, Glenn Gould recorded Bach's Fifth and Sixth partitas in 1957, two years before he recorded the First and Second partitas in 1959 and five years before he recorded the Third and Fourth partitas in 1962. Who knows why he chose to record them in that order, but these 1957 recordings are every bit as willfully individualistic as Gould's later performances. His touch is staccato, his tone secco, his tempos severe, his textures transparent, his phrasing angular, and his interpretations all his own. Take the questing Toccata that opens the E minor Partita with its abrupt transitions, or the choppy Courante with its sudden sforzandos, or the ghostly Sarabande with its errant ornaments. Though like no other recorded performances, Gould's partitas deserve to be heard not just by fans of the performer but also by anyone interested in the composer. The inclusion of the fugues in F sharp minor and E major from Book Two of the Well-Tempered Clavier as an interlude between the two partitas is unusual, and remarkably refreshing.

Recorded mostly in monaural in two days in the early summer of 1957, Columbia's sound is a tad distant but clean and honest. It must be added here that while Gould's unstoppable vocalizations are less audible here than in later recordings, they may still prove too audible for some listeners.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.