Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Colin Davis / London Symphony Orchestra - Haydn: Symphonies 92 & 93, 97-99 (2014) {SACD}

8-04-2016, 22:44
Classical Music | HD & Vinyl

Title: Haydn: Symphonies 92 & 93, 97-99
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: LSO Live
Genre: Classical
Quality: SACD (DSD64 2.0, DST64 5.1; Image (ISO))
Total Time: 02:12:46 min
Total Size: 7,47 Gb

The London Symphonies of Franz Joseph Haydn were composed for impresario Johann Peter Salomon, who introduced the composer to London over two visits between 1791 and 1795. Except for the Symphony No. 92 in G major, "Oxford," which Haydn took with him when he received an honorary doctorate at Oxford University in 1791, and the Symphony No. 99 in E flat major, which was composed on a return to Vienna in 1793, the symphonies between them were written for Salomon's first series of concerts at Hanover Square, which brought Haydn great recognition and remuneration. They mark a change of direction in Haydn's method of composition, because he was no longer writing for the small court orchestra of Prince Nikolaus EsterhГЎzy, but for Salomon's much larger orchestra, which called for robust and innovative music. This double-SACD set from LSO Live presents Colin Davis with the London Symphony Orchestra in bold and vigorous concert performances that offer extraordinary sonorities in the spacious multichannel recording. The orchestra's playing is vibrant and energetic, and the radiant acoustics of the Barbican give the symphonies the warmth and richness that they need. For mainstream interpretations on modern instruments, this package is sure to satisfy all but the most adamant period-style purists. However, note that this set does not include the Symphony No. 94 in G major, "Surprise"; the Symphony No. 95 in C minor; or the Symphony No. 96 in D major, "Miracle," which may be a drawback for some collectors.

Colin Davis / London Symphony Orchestra - Haydn: Symphonies 92 & 93, 97-99 (2014) {SACD}
Disc 1
Symphony No 92:
01. i. Adagio - Allegro spiritoso
02. ii. Adagio cantabile
03. iii. Menuetto: Allegretto
04. iv. Presto
Symphony No 92:
05. i. Adagio - Allegro assai
06. ii. Largo cantabile
07. iii. Menuetto: Allegro
08. iv. Finale: Presto ma non troppo
Symphony No 97:
09. i. Adagio - Allegro assai
10. ii. Adagio ma non troppo
11. iii. Menuetto e Trio: Allegretto
12. iv. Finale: Presto assai

Disc 2
Symphony No 98:
01. i. Adagio - Allegro
02. ii. Adagio
03. iii. Menuetto: Presto
04. iv. Finale: Presto
Symphony No 99:
05. i. Adagio - Vivace assai
06. ii. Adagio
07. iii. Menuetto e Trio: Allegretto
08. iv. Finale: Vivace

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted

AmosDE   User offline   10 April 2016 14:10

_____ 3 ______

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like

Panhistoricus   User offline   11 April 2016 20:06

Thanks a lot!


  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.