Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Vladimir Ashkenazy - Stravinsky: Ragtime; Chamber Works (1996)

21-08-2016, 18:55
Classical Music | FLAC / APE

Title: Stravinsky: Ragtime; Chamber Works
Year Of Release: 1996
Label: Decca Records
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (log,tracks+cue)
Total Time: 0:59:00
Total Size: 293 Mb


01. Ragtime for 11 players

Octet for Wind Instruments
02. I. Sinfonia
03. II. Tema con variazioni
04. III. Finale

3 Pieces for Clarinet Solo
05. I. Sempre piano e molto tranquillo - Quarter note = 52
06. II. Eighth note = 168
07. III. Eighth note = 160

The Soldier's Tale - Suite for Violin, Clarinet & Piano
08. I. The soldier's march
09. II. The soldier's violin
10. III. Little concert
11. IV. Tango - Waltz - Ragtime
12. V. The devil's dance

13. Pastorale for 5 instruments
14. Concertino for 12 instruments

15. I. Quarter note = 88
16. II. Passacaglia
17. III. Gigue

18. Epitaphium fur das Grabmal des Prinzen Max Egon zu Furstenberg'

Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971) - Composer
Vladimir Ashkenazy - Conductor & Piano
Dimitri Ashkenazy - Clarinet
European Soloists Ensemble

The earliest piece on this disc is the delightful Pastorale, written in 1907, when Stravinsky was 25; the latest is the enigmatic Epitaphium, written 52 years later. In between come a clutch of pieces from that fascinating period of Stravinsky’s life when he was moving from Russianism to neo-classicism via jazz. The remaining two, the Octet of 1923 and the Septet of 1953, are both firmly in Stravinsky’s witty, poised neo-classical style, though the Septet is moving towards new, tougher territory.

Stravinsky himself made classic recordings of these pieces in the Sixties, now reissued on CD on the Sony label. These are always electric, if sometimes a little untidy, and so closely recorded you feel the players are sitting in your lap. By that lofty benchmark this new recording measures up superbly. Tempos are just as brisk and alert as Stravinsky’s, the accents just as incisive. These qualities are combined with a beautiful soft-grained tone – a nice change from Stravinsky’s lemon-sharp sound. The Septet in particular came up very fresh: in the composer’s version the middle movement felt gruff and crabbed; here it has a mysterious grave quality, as of a procession seen through a veil. A wonderful disc. --Ivan Hewett.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted

Panhistoricus   User offline   30 March 2016 18:22

Thanks for sharing!


  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like

hatchoi   User offline   3 April 2016 07:53

Could you please re-up the album?

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.