Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Herb Ellis - Six Classic Albums [4CD Remastered & Enhanced] (2013)

22-03-2016, 14:41
Jazz | FLAC / APE

Title: Six Classic Albums
Year Of Release: 2013
Label: Real Gone Jazz [RGJCD321]
Genre: Mainstream Jazz, Bebop, Swing, Cool Jazz
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks + log)
Total Time: 3:52:33
Total Size: 558 mb / 1.06 gb

An excellent bop-based guitarist with a slight country twang to his sound, Herb Ellis became famous playing with the Oscar Peterson Trio during 1953-1958. Prior to that, he had attended North Texas State University and played with the Casa Loma Orchestra, Jimmy Dorsey (1945-1947), and the sadly under-recorded trio Soft Winds. While with Peterson, Ellis was on some Jazz at the Philharmonic tours and had a few opportunities to lead his own dates for Verve, including his personal favorite, Nothing But the Blues (1957). After leaving Peterson, Ellis toured a bit with Ella Fitzgerald; became a studio musician on the West Coast; made sessions with the Dukes of Dixieland, Stuff Smith, and Charlie Byrd; and in the 1970s became much more active in the jazz world. He can be heard on the first three releases issued by the Concord label, interacting with Joe Pass on the initial two, and he toured with the Great Guitars (along with Byrd and Barney Kessel) through much of the 1970s into the '80s. After a long series of Concord albums, Ellis cut a couple of excellent sessions in the 1990s for Justice, as well as 1999's Burnin' on Acoustic Music. After battling Alzheimer's disease, Herb Ellis died at the age of 88 at his home in Los Angeles on March 28, 2010. ~ Scott Yanow, Rovi


CD 1
01. Sweetheart Blues
02. Somebody Loves Me
03. It Could Happen to You
04. Pogo
05. Detour Ahead
06. Ellis In Wonderland
07. Have You Met Miss Jones
08. A Simple Tune
09. What a Difference a Day Makes
10. Polka Dots and Moonbeams
11. Blow Fiddle Blow
12. Blue Orchid
13. Gone With the Wind
14. Squeeze Me
15. You Stepped Out of a Dream
16. Moonlight in Vermont
17. If Love Is Good to Me
18. Big Me Little Me

CD 2
01. Pap's Blues
02. Big Red's Boogie Woogie
03. Tin Roof Blues
04. Soft Winds
05. Royal Garden Blues
06. Patti Cake
07. Blues for Janet
08. Blues for Junior
09. Goose Grease
10. When You're Lover Has Gone
11. Remember
12. Patricia

CD 3
01. A Country Boy
02. You Know
03. My Old Flame
04. People Will Say We're In Love
05. Pickely Wickley
06. I Told You I Loved You Now Get Out
07. Cook One
08. Karin
09. Cherry Kliafa
10. Thank You Charlie Christian
11. Alexander's Ragtime Band
12. Lemon Twist
13. Everything's Pat
14. Working With the Truth

CD 4
1. Bebop
2. Dark Eyes
3. Wee
4. Lover Come Back

EU-only four CD set containing seven albums from the Jazz great: Bass Hit, Way Out West, the Poll Winners, This Is Ray Brown, Jazz Cello, Ray Brown with the All Star Band and Bursting Out with the All Star Big Band.

TurboBit | Uploaded

cbr 320 kbps
TurboBit | Uploaded


Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
5 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.