Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Al Green - The Absolute Best [2 CD] (2004) 320

21-03-2016, 12:08
Blues | Soul | R&B | Pop

Title: The Absolute Best
Year Of Release: 2004
Label: The Right Stuff [72435-95002-2-5]
Genre: Soul, Rhythm & Blues, Smooth Soul
Quality: CBR 320 kbps
Total Time: 2:06:19
Total Size: 305 mb

Colin Escott's informative, quote-filled liner essay for this two-disc compilation is called Al Green at Hi Records, and that may well have been a better title for the set than The Absolute Best. While it would be foolish to argue that Green's brilliant sides for Hi -- superbly produced by Willie Mitchell and featuring the impassioned and idiosyncratic vocal performances that were Green's hallmark -- are not his best work, there's still enough great music to be found in Green's later gospel recordings and occasional post-Hi secular sessions that a comprehensive collection of the man's music (especially one of this length) ought to at least acknowledge the full breadth of his legacy. But that grumbling aside, this is a fine and deeply pleasurable overview of the commercial peak of Green's career, which covers his biggest hits along with plenty of worthy lesser-known cuts. Green's records didn't sound quite like anyone else's during his 1970-1978 heyday, thanks to the uncluttered snap of Al Jackson's drums, Teenie Hodges' spidery guitar lines, the sweet-and-sour horn charts, and string sections that softened the edges without robbing the sessions of their funky power, and Green's vocals, which blended a love man's pleadings with a melismatic fervor that came straight from the church, were even more compelling than their backdrops. This set features 34 examples of Green's magic in action, with a handful of rare and unreleased tracks sitting alongside classic singles like "Let's Stay Together," "Tired of Being Alone," "Still in Love With You," "Here I Am (Come and Take Me)," and (of course) much, much more. This is a pretty hefty package for a "Greatest Hits" set, but if there's ever been an artist whose work has an addictive power, it's Green, and the heft of this package should satisfy both fans looking for a solid stand-alone collection of Green's years at Hi and dabblers who are looking for the hits.


CD 1
1. Strong as Death, Sweet as Love (4:20)
2. Love and Happiness (5:08)
3. Let's Stay Together (3:19)
4. I'm a Ram (3:48)
5. I've Never Found a Girl (3:42)
6. Driving Wheel (3:01)
7. La-La for You (3:31)
8. I Can't Get Next to You (3:49)
9. So You've Leaving (2:56)
10. Tired of Being Alone (2:53)
11. Look What You Done for Me (3:07)
12. I'm Still in Love With You (3:14)
13. Sweet Song [#] (3:26)
14. Love Is Real [#] (4:43)
15. Funny How Time Slips Away (5:36)
16. You Out to Be With Me (3:18)

CD 2
1. Love Ritual [Remix] (4:15)
2. Here I Am (Come and Take Me) (4:16)
3. Call Me (Come Back Home) (3:04)
4. Livin' for You (3:12)
5. Rhymes (3:36)
6. God Blessed Our Love (3:56)
7. Let's Get Married [LP Version] (5:35)
8. Sha-La-La (Make Me Happy) (2:59)
9. Take Me to the River (3:46)
10. Oh Me, Oh My (Dreams in My Arms) (2:49)
11. L-O-V-E (Love) (3:09)
12. Got to Be More (Take Me Higher) (2:46)
13. Together Again (5:21)
14. Full of Fire (5:14)
15. Belle (4:51)
16. Keep Me Cryin' (3:08)
17. Simply Beautiful (4:12)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
6 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.