Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Uriah Heep - Classic Heep: An Anthology (1998)

19-03-2016, 17:27
Rock | FLAC / APE

Title: Classic Heep: An Anthology
Year Of Release: 1998
Label: Mercury, Chronicles [314 558 863-2]
Genre: Rock, Hard Rock, Prog Rock
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue+.log) | Mp3
Total Time: 2CD (79:14 + 76:51)
Total Size: 1,00 GB | 367 MB (Covers)

Review by Bret Adams, AMG:
To irritate snobbish rock critics in the 1970s, all a band had to do was play heavy metal or progressive rock. Imagine their horror when Uriah Heep came along and consciously fused both styles. Uriah Heep was the subject of one vicious critic's infamous quote, "If this group makes it, I'll have to commit suicide." Well then, this critic is probably dead, because the British band did achieve widespread success. 1998's two-CD Classic Heep: An Anthology is a terrific compilation of Uriah Heep's 1970-1976 prime. The 30 songs are taken from nine studio albums: Uriah Heep (Very 'Eavy, Very 'Umble in the U.K.), Salisbury, Look at Yourself, Demons and Wizards, The Magician's Birthday, Sweet Freedom, Wonderworld, Return to Fantasy, and High and Mighty. It surely won't inspire a serious critical re-examination of Uriah Heep, but it should. The band was aggressively experimental, and while not everything worked, during its peak years vocalist David Byron, guitarist Mick Box, keyboardist/guitarist Ken Hensley, bass guitarists Gary Thain and John Wetton, and drummer Lee Kerslake tried it all. Musically, Uriah Heep relied on Byron's dramatic vocals, Box's gritty guitar crunch, Hensley's rumbling keyboards, and Thain's (later Wetton's) busy bass licks, and the band's harmony vocals and background "aah"s and "ooh"s were unique. Of course, Uriah Heep's two most famous songs, "Stealin'" and "Easy Livin'," are included. "Stealin'," a staple of classic rock radio, is the band's best: a powerfully tight, explosive lament from a penitent, ashamed outlaw. "Easy Livin'," the band's only U.S. Top 40 hit, is a catchy, full-bore rocker. Other notable cuts are "Gypsy," "Bird of Prey," "Lady in Black," "Rainbow Demon," "Blind Eye," "Sweet Lorraine," "Wonderworld," "Return to Fantasy," "Weep in Silence," and the ambitious epics "July Morning," "Paradise/The Spell," and "The Magician's Birthday." The detailed liner notes include an insightful essay by Hensley.



01. Gypsy (Box/Byron) (06:36)
02. Come Away Melinda (Hellermann/Minkoff) (03:47)
03. Bird Of Prey (Box/Byron/Hensley/Newton) (04:05)
04. I'll Keep On Trying (Box/Byron) (05:24)
05. High Priestess (Ken Hensley) (03:40)
06. The Park (Ken Hensley) (05:41)
07. Lady In Black (Ken Hensley) (04:42)
08. Look At Yourself (Ken Hensley) (05:08)
09. July Morning (Hensley/Byron) (10:30)
10. Tears In My Eyes (Ken Hensley) (04:59)
11. Love Machine (Hensley/Byron/Box) (03:37)
12. The Wizard (Hensley/Clarke) (03:00)
13. Why (Box/Byron/Newton/Hensley) (04:55)
14. Traveller In Time (Byron/Box/Kerslake) (03:24)
15. Easy Livin' (Ken Hensley) (02:35)
16. Circle Of Hands (Ken Hensley) (06:24)

Tracks 1-4: taken from the album Uriah Heep, 1970
Tracks 5-7: taken from the album Salisbury, 1971
Tracks 8-11: taken from the album Look at Yourself, 1971
Tracks 12 & 14-16: taken from the album Demons And Wizards, 1972
Track 13: issued as the b-side of the single The Wizard


01. Rainbow Demon (Ken Hensley) (04:24)
02. Paradise/The Spell (Ken Hensley) (12:41)
03. Sunrise (Ken Hensley) (04:04)
04. Blind Eye (Ken Hensley) (03:34)
05. The Magician's Birthday (Hensley/Box/Kerslake) (10:19)
06. Sweet Lorraine (Box/Byron/Thain) (04:15)
07. Rain (Ken Hensley) (03:59)
08. Stealin' (Ken Hensley) (04:49)
09. Sweet Freedom (Ken Hensley) (06:27)
10. Wonderworld (Ken Hensley) (04:28)
11. The Easy Road (Ken Hensley) (02:40)
12. Return To Fantasy (Hensley/Byron) (05:48)
13. Footprints In The Snow (Hensley/Wetton) (03:53)
14. Weep In Silence (Hensley/Wetton) (05:06)

Tracks 1 & 2: taken from album Demons And Wizards, 1972
Tracks 3-7: taken from album The Magician's Birthday, 1972
Tracks 8 & 9: taken from album Sweet Freedom, 1973
Tracks 10 & 11: taken from album Wonderworld, 1974
Track 12: taken from the album Return To Fantasy, 1975
Track 13 & 14: taken from the album High And Mighty, 1976

Uriah Heep - Classic Heep: An Anthology (1998)

Uriah Heep - Classic Heep: An Anthology (1998)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
3 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.