Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Blind Lemon Jefferson - The Complete 94 Classic Sides (2003)

14-03-2016, 13:35
Blues | Country | Oldies | FLAC / APE

Title: The Complete 94 Classic Sides
Year Of Release: 2003
Label: JSP Records
Genre: Blues, Country Blues
Quality: Mp3 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks+cue)
Total Time: 04:35:18
Total Size: 655 / 590 Mb


Disc A: Chicago 1926 (01:08:18)
01. I Want To Be Like Jesus In My Heart 03:08
02. All I Want Is That Pure Religion 03:16
03. Got The Blues 02:55
04. Long Lonesome Blues 02:58
05. Booster Blues 02:51
06. Dry Southern Blues 02:53
07. Black Horse Blues 02:57
08. Corinna Blues 03:09
09. Got The Blues 03:06
10. Long Lonesome Blues 03:12
11. Jack O' Diamond Blues 02:34
12. Jack O' Diamond Blues 02:48
13. Chock House Blues 02:41
14. Beggin Back 02:53
15. Old Rounders Blues 02:48
16. Stocking Feet Blues 03:09
17. That Black Snake Moan 03:07
18. Wartime Blues 03:03
19. Broke And Hungry 03:03
20. Shuckin' Sugar Blues 03:06
21. Booger Rooger Blues 02:51
22. Rabbit Foot Blues 02:58
23. Bad Luck Blues 02:52

Disc B: Atlanta & Chicago 1927 (01:04:56)
01. Black Snake Moan 03:03
02. Match Box Blues 02:55
03. Easy Rider Blues 02:57
04. Match Box Blues 03:11
05. Match Box Blues 03:02
06. Rising High Water Blues 02:30
07. Weary Dogs Blues 03:00
08. Right Of Way Blues 02:55
09. Teddy Bear Blues 02:29
10. Teddy Bear Blues 02:35
11. Black Snake Dream Blues 02:39
12. Hot Dogs 02:58
13. He Arose From The Dead 02:47
14. Struck Sorrow Blues 03:15
15. Rambler Blues 02:48
16. Chinch Bug Blues 02:50
17. Deceitful Brownskin Blues 03:00
18. Sunshine Special 02:46
19. Gone Dead On You Blues 02:46
20. Where Shall I Be? 02:33
21. See That My Grave's Kept Clean 02:42
22. One Dime Blues 02:48
23. Lonesome House Blues 02:27

Disc C: Chicago 1928 (01:06:30)
01. Blind Lemon's Penitentiary Blues 02:49
02. 'Lectric Chair Blues 02:32
03. See That My Grave Is Kept Clean 02:54
04. Lemon's Worried Blues 03:02
05. Mean Jumper Blues 02:39
06. Balky Mule Blues 02:45
07. Change My Luck Blues 02:28
08. Prison Cell Blues 02:48
09. Lemon's Cannon Ball Moan 02:45
10. Long Lastin' Love 02:52
11. Piney Wood's Money Mama 02:59
12. Low Down Mojo Blues 02:50
13. Competition Bed Blues 02:52
14. Lock Step Blues 03:09
15. Hangman's Blues 03:07
16. Sad News Blues 02:42
17. How Long How Long 02:47
18. Lockstep Blues 03:20
19. Hangman's Blues 03:25
20. Christmas Eve Blues 02:58
21. Happy New Year Blues 02:56
22. Maltese Cat Blues 03:05
23. D B Blues 02:46

Disc D: Chicago & Richmond 1929 (01:15:34)
01. Eagle Eyed Mama 02:45
02. Dynamite Blues 02:56
03. Disgusted Blues 02:51
04. Competition Bed Blues 02:47
05. Sad News Blues 02:56
06. Oil Well Blues 02:47
07. Tin Cup Blues 02:47
08. Big Night Blues 02:55
09. Bed Spring Blues 03:00
10. Saturday Night Spendor Blues 03:02
11. That Black Snake Moan No. 2 02:52
12. Peach Orchard Mama 03:05
13. Big Night Blues 03:10
14. Bed Spring Blues 03:07
15. Yo Yo Blues 02:38
16. Mosquito Man 03:08
17. Southern Woman Blues 03:09
18. Bakershop Blues 03:14
19. Pneumonia Blues 03:22
20. Long Distance Moan 03:30
21. That Crawlin' Baby Blues 02:42
22. Fence Breakin' Yellin' Blues 03:04
23. Cat Man Blues 03:15
24. The Cheaters Spell 03:20
25. Bootin' Me 'Bout 03:12

This is an awe-inspiring four-CD set in a world that has no shortage of brilliant artists represented in their entirety. Listeners wishing to appreciate the spellbinding, primal sound of Blind Lemon Jefferson can start here, except they may never want to finish; 70-some years since his death, and nearly 80 years since his first record, Jefferson's voice and guitar effortlessly cut through the decades. Starting with his earliest sides (from December 1925 -- the same year that electrical recording debuted), "I Want to Be Like Jesus in My Heart" and "All I Want Is That Pure Religion," a pair of gospel songs originally credited to "Deacon L.J. Bates," the combination of the powerful, achingly expressive singing and playing makes them a dazzling listening experience -- and this isn't even the kind of music for which Jefferson was known. Even with the surface noise typical of pre-World War II 78s, the delicacy and intricacy of the playing comes through. On the next tracks, however, when he shifts gears to the blues, that's when his fingers and his voice take flight from one song to another. On "Got the Blues," "Long Lonesome Blues," "Booster Blues," "Dry Southern Blues," "Black Horse Blues," and others, he lofts himself like an eagle soaring across a landscape (and that was exactly how this came off in a recording world populated by distinctly lesser men). By the time of his fourth group of sessions, Jefferson's records had acquired all of the attributes that made him a legend; even on a track like "Old Rounders Blues," which is very nearly more surface noise than music, the sudden yet graceful trills and arpeggios in Jefferson's playing come through, and when coupled with the voice -- which is seldom muted by the surface imperfections in the sources -- the results are spellbinding; later on, he does even more with less overt virtuosity and surprises listeners even more. Toward the end of his life (in 1929), he was pioneering what could be called the Count Basie approach to virtuosity, reducing his flourishes to figures of just two or three notes. And his voice comes through well enough to make it live up to its title, even on tracks such as the first version of "That Black Snake Moan," despite some considerable surface noise in the source. Because of its inclusiveness, there's no chance that this set can match the sonic workmanship on, say, Yazoo Records' The Best of Blind Lemon Jefferson, which is generally able to achieve a uniformly high standard. Still, modern remastering has allowed the producers to salvage some useful sound even on some of the roughest-condition masters, such as the 1928 vintage "'Lectric Chair Blues" from 1928, which is as much hiss and surface noise as it is music but still reveals an amazing amount of the performance. Each of the four discs covers a year's worth of recorded output in Jefferson's life, from 1925/1926 to 1929; there's no rhyme or reason to the quality of each cut, the producers limited by the condition of the few surviving 78s so that the dazzlingly clear "That Crawling Baby Blues" is followed by "Fence Breakin' Yellin' Blues," the latter filled with surface noise but easily salvaged. These are all several cuts above the quality of work Document Records released in the late '80s and early '90s, and comes at a much lower price, as well. It's not for the casual fan -- though it could be absorbed, say, 12 songs or so at a time each week (which would make this a month's listening). The annotation, such as it is -- little hard information could be found on Jefferson in the 1950s and 1960s, when people who worked with him were still in abundance to be interviewed -- is extensive. --Bruce Eder

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 40
3 voted

jazzfanatic   User offline   16 March 2016 01:56

Fantastic upload, SuniR, thank you!

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.