Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Bessie Smith - The Complete Recordings Vol. 1 (1923-1924) (1991)

10-03-2016, 15:01
Jazz | Blues | Soul | FLAC / APE

Title: The Complete Recordings Vol. 1 (1923-1924)
Year Of Release: 1991
Label: Columbia/Legacy
Genre: Blues, Jazz, Soul-Jazz
Quality: Mp3 320 kbps / FLAC (log,image+cue)
Total Time: 02:03:45
Total Size: 325 / 471 Mb


CD 1:
01. Down Hearted Blues 03:28
02. Gulf Coast Blues 03:07
03. Aggravatin' Papa 03:19
04. Beale Street mama 03:37
05. Baby Won't You Please Come Home 02:58
06. Oh Daddy Blues 03:07
07. 'Tain't Nobody's Bizness If I Do 03:29
08. Keeps On A-Rainin' (Papa, He Can't Make No Time) 03:09
09. Mama's Got The Blues 02:58
10. Outside Of That 03:30
11. Bleeding Hearted Blues 03:08
12. Lady Luck Blues 03:09
13. Yodling Blues 03:14
14. Midnight Blues 03:20
15. If You Don't, I Know Who Will 03:38
16. Nobody In Town Can Bake A Sweet Jelly Roll Like Mine 03:34
17. Jail-House Blues 03:16
18. St. Louis Gal 03:30
19. Sam Jones Blues 02:47

CD 2:
01. Graveyard Dream Blues 02:46
02. Cemetery Blues 03:31
03. Far Away Blues 03:02
04. I'm Going Back to My Used to Be 02:56
05. Whoa, Tillie, Take Your Time 03:12
06. My Sweetie Went Away 03:13
07. Any Woman's Blues 03:28
08. Chicago Bound Blues 03:18
09. Mistreating Daddy 03:19
10. Frosty Morning Blues 03:16
11. Haunted House Blues 03:31
12. Eavesdropper's Blues 03:13
13. Easy Come, Easy Go Blues 03:11
14. Sorrowful Blues 03:19
15. Pinchbacks - Take 'Em Away 03:17
16. Rocking Chair Blues 03:16
17. Ticket Agent, Ease Your Window Down 03:20
18. Boweavil Blues 02:54
19. Hateful Blues 03:09

Bessie Smith wasn't the first of the classic blues singers to record, but once she did, she became the form's dominant force, with a voice that combined clear diction, great power, and a unique capacity to convey complex emotions. Weariness gives way to resilience and sorrow to joyous triumph in Smith's performances, and there's nobility in her delivery of even the sometimes tritely comic lyrics she sang. This is the first of five two-CD sets that gather all her known recordings. The first 38 songs, from February 1923 to April 1924, are here. Smith was a presence when she first arrived in the studio: "Downhearted Blues," her first record and already a hit for its composer, Alberta Hunter, would sell nearly 800,000 copies in its first six months of release. It's a riveting performance, but there's greater substance just a couple of months later in the bending notes of "Oh Daddy Blues." There are many majestic performances here, with Smith usually accompanied by just piano, played by songwriter Clarence Williams, her working accompanist Irving Johns, or Fletcher Henderson. When her accompaniments begin to expand, Don Redman makes an appearance on clarinet, but the great band recordings with Louis Armstrong remain in the future. The liner notes, by Smith's biographer, Chris Albertson, are excellent, filled with illuminating background and details of Smith's career during her first year of fame. --Stuart Broomer

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 80
3 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.