Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - Greasy Truckers Party [3CD] (1972/2007) Lossless

29-02-2016, 22:41
Rock | FLAC / APE

Title: Greasy Truckers Party
Year Of Release: 1972/2007
Label: EMI
Genre: Rock
Quality: Flac (tracks+.cue)
Total Time: 03:24:04
Total Size: 1,18 GB

Greasy Truckers Party is a 1972 live album by various artists recorded at a February 1972 Greasy Truckers concert at the Roundhouse in London. The concert featured three bands, Man, Brinsley Schwarz and Hawkwind, and musician Magic Michael. Originally a double vinyl album, in a limited edition of 20,000 and sold at just £1.50, it rapidly sold out, and became a collector's item.

In the world of British underground rock, the Greasy Truckers Party ... ... looms about as large as the Monterey International Pop Festival does in American rock lore; it wasn't the biggest gig ever played by the bands involved, but for reasons of exposure, and resulting word-of-mouth, and the excerpted live album that followed, it came to define what they were capable of.

— Bruce Eder, Allmusic

Greasy Truckers were "a loose organisation of individuals whose ideals were based on those of the Diggers in San Francisco, recycling money into worthwhile causes." ] This album was the first of two albums recorded at concerts in London organised by Greasy Truckers, the second being Greasy Truckers Live at Dingwalls Dance Hall (1974). All proceeds from the concert and LP sales went to Greasy Truckers' project to build a hostel in Notting Hill Gate.

The concert was due to run from 3PM until midnight and include performances by Byzantium and others, but wage disputes between the unions and the government had led to frequent power cuts, one of which occurred in the early evening, giving an unusual album track "Power cut".
The fire brigade asked the audience to leave, but when power was resumed, and the audience re-admitted, hundreds more people came in. In defiance of the Fire Brigade, many people stayed inside, temporary lighting was set up and the audience was entertained by eccentric folk band Skinner's Rats who did not require amplification. They started with the opening of Richard Strauss's "Also Sprach Zarathustra" before breaking into a medley of reels and being joined on stage by a troop of Morris dancers - the Blackheath Foot and Death Men.

The power cut had affected Hawkwind's synthesisers, which were very temperamental, leading to their apologies, and having to restart their act after a breakdown.


Disc 1 - MAN

1. Man - Spunk Rock [22:23]
2. Man - Many Are Called But Few Get Up [10:13]
3. Man - Angel Up [05:50]
4. Man - Bananas - Early Instrumental Version [14:46]
5. Man - Romain [11:29]

Disc 2 - Brinsley Schwarz & Magic Michael

1. Brinsley Schwarz & Magic Michael - Intro [01:06]
2. Brinsley Schwarz & Magic Michael - Country Girl [03:12]
3. Brinsley Schwarz & Magic Michael - One More Day [03:02]
4. Brinsley Schwarz & Magic Michael - Unknown Number [02:46]
5. Brinsley Schwarz & Magic Michael - She's Got to Be Real [03:34]
6. Brinsley Schwarz & Magic Michael - Home Work [02:54]
7. Brinsley Schwarz & Magic Michael - Nervous on the Road (But Can't Stay at Home)[05:11]
8. Brinsley Schwarz & Magic Michael - Range War [02:25]
9. Brinsley Schwarz & Magic Michael - Silver Pistol [03:38]
10. Brinsley Schwarz & Magic Michael - Going Down the Road (Trad.)[06:02]
11. Brinsley Schwarz & Magic Michael - Midnight Train (Trad.)[04:22]
12. Brinsley Schwarz & Magic Michael - Private Number [03:52]
13. Brinsley Schwarz & Magic Michael - It's Just My Way of Saying Thank You[06:34]
14. Brinsley Schwarz & Magic Michael - Wonder Woman [04:02]
15. Brinsley Schwarz & Magic Michael - I'm Ahead If I Can Quit While I'm Behind[04:22]
16. Brinsley Schwarz & Magic Michael - Surrender to the Rhythm[04:25]
17. Brinsley Schwarz & Magic Michael - Music Belongs to the People[09:45]

Disc 3 - Hawkwind

1. Hawkwind - Announcement [01:58]
2. Hawkwind - This Is Your Captain Speaking [01:37]
3. Hawkwind - This Is Your Captain Speaking (cont) [02:41]
4. Hawkwind - You Shouldn't Do That [10:06]
5. Hawkwind - The Awakening [07:49]
6. Hawkwind - Master Of The Universe [06:59]
7. Hawkwind - Paranoia [05:01]
8. Hawkwind - Earth Calling [03:23]
9. Hawkwind - Silver Machine [04:26]
10. Hawkwind - Welcome To The Future [03:35]
11. Hawkwind - Born To Go [09:07]
12. Hawkwind - Brainstorm [09:51]
13. Hawkwind - DJ Andy Dunkley - End Announcement [01:19]

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.