Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Nicola Conte & Stefania Dipierro - Natural (2016)

26-02-2016, 19:31
Jazz | Vocal Jazz | World | Latin

Title: Natural
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: Far Out Recordings
Genre: Latin Jazz, Jazz
Quality: mp3 320 kbps
Total Time: 00:53:34
Total Size: 123 mb

01. Maracatu Atômico
02. Softly as in a Morning Sunrise
03. A Gira
04. Within You and I
05. Open the Door
06. Ainda Mais Amor
07. Caminhos Cruzados
08. The Meaning of Love
09. Natural
10. I Feel the Sun on Me
11. A Menina Dança
12. Vento Bravo
13. Que Maravilha
14. Joia

Italian DJ/producer Nicola Conte's loungey brand of acid jazz relies extensively on bossa nova, but is also heavily influenced by the swinging soundtracks of Italian films in the '60s and '70s, plus touches of ethnic music and easy listening kitsch reminiscent of Japan's Pizzicato Five. Part of the loose-knit Fez collective of artsy acid jazz revivalists centered in the Italian town of Bari, Conte was a classically trained musician who instead moved into production and DJing, working with artists like the Paolo Achenza Trio, the Fez Combo, Balanco, Quintetto X, and the Intensive Jazz Sextet. Conte also masterminded the Schema label, which gave many of those artists a home and cultivated a trademark, distinctly Italian approach to acid jazz. As for his own recording career, Conte scored an underground hit with his first single, "Bossa Per Due," which appeared on a variety of compilations and was licensed in the U.S. for an Acura commercial. Conte's first album to be released in America was also titled Bossa Per Due, a slightly reconfigured version of the Italian Jet Sounds; it appeared on Thievery Corporation's ESL (Eighteenth Street Lounge) label in the summer of 2001. The remix album Jet Sounds Revisited followed in late 2002. Two years later, Conte bowed on Blue Note's French subsidiary with an assured jazz date, Other Directions. Quiet Stars and a slew of singles followed before Conte would return with Viagem, his curated selection of classic Brazilian recordings in 2008, followed four more volumes between 2009 and 2013. These were followed by a two-CD set of electronic recordings entitled The Modern Sound of Nicola Conte: Versions in Jazz Dub in early 2009. That same year, Conte explored Latin jazz, Brazilian pop, and John Coltrane's early sense of experiments as inspirations for Rituals, an exotic, wide-ranging jazz album that featured five different vocalists. The use of singers was expanded to eight on 2011's Love & Revolution, an exercise in European pop, jazz balladry, and Eastern-tinged and modal jazz that included performances by Jose James, Gregory Porter, Melanie Charles, and Ghalia Benali, and was followed by the Brazilian-themed EP Sketches of Samba in 2013. Conte forged ahead in his explorations, wedding deep modal and spiritual jazz to sophisticated pop. This resulted in Free Souls in the spring of 2014, an album that once again utilized vocalists -- including James and Charles -- and was comprised of expansive originals and standards, including tunes by Ahmad Jamal and Hoagy Carmichael.



Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
8 voted

Hakuin   User offline   1 March 2016 19:20

Can U upload the FLAC version?

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.