Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Nelson Riddle - Hey... Let Yourself Go! & C'mon... Get Happy! (2000)

25-02-2016, 09:23
Jazz | Soundtrack | Easy Listening | FLAC / APE

Title: Hey... Let Yourself Go! & C'mon... Get Happy!
Year Of Release: 2000
Label: Collectors' Choice [CCM-145-2]
Genre: Jazz, Big Band, Easy Listening, Soundtrack
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks +.cue,log)
Total Time: 1:11:27
Total Size: 178 mb / 237 mb

In the 1950s, Nelson Riddle was Capitol Records' top arranger and one of the most sought after talents in the West Coast music business, writing charts and running sessions for the likes of Frank Sinatra, Ella Fitzgerald, Peggy Lee, Nat King Cole, Rosemary Clooney, and many more. When he wasn't busy working with other people, Riddle cut several notable albums of his own, and two of them are paired up on this CD reissue from Collectables Records. While C'mon...Get Happy! has the more upbeat title, Hey...Let Yourself Go! is the more celebratory sounding LP, a collection of 12 classic standards given a buoyant treatment that's suitable for both dancing and carefree listening. C'mon...Get Happy! displays a greater willingness to dip into midtempo material and move into moodier directions, but despite the presence of relatively serious tracks like "Diga, Diga Doo" and "Time Was," it's still a swinging set of melodies and reveals more than enough joie de vivre to justify its title. In some respects, Riddle was the John Ford of easy listening -- so many of the stylistic techniques and ideas he pioneered are common enough to feel like clichГ©s, but if these recordings don't sound especially innovative 50 years after they were first released, Riddle's expressive command of the orchestral style, his lush but lively sound, and the expert touch of his musicians is still a marvel to hear, especially given that most of these tracks were created without the benefit of overdubbing or editing. Hey...Let Yourself Go! and C'mon...Get Happy! were previously released on a single CD in 1993 under the title The Best of the Capitol Years, and if that title goes a bit far to make a point, there's little arguing that this music captured Riddle at the top of his form, and this is a fine place to begin exploring his solo recordings.


01. Let's Face the Music and Dance
02. You Are My Lucky Star
03. You and the Night and the Music
04. Younger Than Springtime
05. You Leave Me Breathless
06. You're an Old Smoothie
07. Then I'll Be Happy
08. I Get Along Without You Very Well
09. I Can't Escape from You
10. Have You Got Any Castles, Baby?
11. Darn That Dream
12. Let Yourself Go
13. Jeannine (I Dream of Lilac Time)
14. Without a Song
15. September in the Rain
16. S'Posin
17. Am I Blue?
18. Rain
19. I'll Get By
20. Diga Diga Doo
21. For All We Know
22. Time Was
23. Something to Remember You By
24. Get Happy

TurboBit | Uploaded

cbr 320 kbps
TurboBit | Uploaded


Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
3 voted

tiger   User offline   25 February 2016 21:15

Thanks a lot.

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.