Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


John Wolf Brennan, Gene Coleman, K.J. Meier, Marc Unternahrer - Momentum 4: Rising Fall (2005) 320 Kbps

24-02-2016, 08:34

Title: Momentum 4: Rising Fall
Year Of Release: 2005
Label: Leo Records
Genre: Free Jazz, Avant-Garde Jazz
Quality: MP3 320 Kbps
Total Time: 01:01:37
Total Size: 155 Mb


01. Steam 2:03
02. Boat Rising 6:31
03. Give It Back To Me 1:49
04. Hands On 6:31
05. It Will End In Tears 6:32
06. Darkroom 4:18
07. Boat Sinking 3:27
08. Dionysos, Musing 5:40
09. Wicked Park 5:06
10. Spot The L 1:58
11. Soliciting 3:16
12. You Can't Have Everything 2:49
13. You Are My Dear 4:44
14. Betty's Blue Star Lounge 6:39


John Wolf Brennan: piano, prepared piano
Gene Coleman: bass clarinet
Thomas K.J. Mejer: sopranino & contrabass saxophones
Marc Unternahrer: tuba

Pianist John Wolf Brennan brings together his Momentum project for the fourth time. The biggest personnel change is the absence of drummer Christian Wolfarth, a fixture on all three previous releases from this project. Bass clarinetist Gene Coleman is the only returning collaborator here. Mejer and Unternahrer are newcomers to the ensemble.
This time around, the line-up is horn heavy, especially in the lower regions. Combined with Brennan`s prepared piano, the low-pitches horns make for a decidedly spectral excursion.
The album consists of 14 pieces, with none longer than seven minutes and a few under two. The short, thematically charged compositions tend to focus on particular improvisational challenges. For example, the low moaning horns and sporadic pianism of the haunting "Boat Rising" are completely eradicated by the quicksilver assault of "Give it back To Me". Building in less than two minutes to a frenzied, but tight collective improvisation full of caterwauling horns, the piece is a complete contrast to the previous tune, as much as it is to the pensive meditation, "Hands On", which immediately follows it.
An so the album goes, impressionistic, breathy call and response, ghostly multiphonics, scrapped piano strings and delicate interplay wedged in between sputters and squeals of low-pitched reeds, the braying of deep brass and pounded tone clusters on the keys. Brennan and his bandmates are masterful throughout, as each piece acts as a meditation on a particular theme. The depth of the ensemble`s interaction alone merits repeated listening of these improvisations. Considering the relative intensity of the quartet`s more fervent explorations, this is not an album for the faint of heart. - Troy Collins, Cadence Magazine,

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.