Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - Cherokee Boogie Indians & The Blues (2004)

17-02-2016, 13:30
Blues | World | Folk

Title: Cherokee Boogie Indians & The Blues
Year Of Release: 2004
Label: Saga
Genre: Blues, Folk, World
Quality: Mp3 320 kbps
Total Time: 01:05:23
Total Size: 143 Mb


01. Seminole Blues - Tampa Red
02. Chickasaw Train Blues (Low Down Dirty Thing) - Memphis Minnie
03. Cherokee Boogie (Eh Oh Aleena) - Benjamin "Bullmoose" Jackson
04. Mean Old World Blues - T-Bone Walker
05. Junker Blues - Champion Jack Dupree
06. Blues With a Feeling - Lowell Fulson
07. Crawlin' King Snake - Big Joe Williams
08. Crawlin' King Snake - Francis Scrapper Blackwell
09. New Stock Yard Blues - Robert Wilkins
10. Lord I'm Discouraged - Charlie Patton
11. Bamalong Blues - Andrew Baxter & Jim Baxter
12. Memphis Boy Blues - Memphis Jug Band
13. The Faking Blues - Papa Charlie Jackson
14. Big Chief Blues - Furry Lewis
15. Indian Squaw Blues - Freezone
16. Don't Ease Me In - Henry Thomas
17. You Changed - Big Bill Broonzy
18. Going to the Nation - Priscilla Stewart
19. Lonesome Day Blues - Jesse James
20. Piney Woods Money Mama - Blind Lemon Jefferson
21. Nappy Headed Blues - Helen Humes
22. Skeet and Garrett - Roosevelt Sykes

Well, gotta give credit to Saga for hitting on a new conceptual twist for a blues compilation, drawn largely on the '20s and '30s country blues tradition with a couple of 1951 ringers sneaking in courtesy of Bull Moose Jackson and Big Bill Broonzy. The program is themed according to geographical influence (tracks one through three), blues artists with Indian blood (tracks four through 11), and blues lyrics dealing with the Indian influence and experience (tracks 12 through 22). What you essentially hear is a country blues record with titles and the occasional lyrics sticking out to remind you of the theme. Well-known names like Tampa Red, Memphis Minnie, T-Bone Walker, Champion Jack Dupree, and Lowell Fulson figure in the first six tracks alone, a reassuring sign that Cherokee Boogie isn't some collection of second-rate odds and ends that would otherwise never have made it to disc. The sound quality is more hit-and-miss, with Walker's "Mean Old World" the first sign that old 78s are the principal source, and the scratchy surface noise becomes so pronounced for Papa Charlie Jackson and Priscilla Stewart that they barely make it out of the hiss. But the compilation is a great way to sample artists you normally wouldn't find grouped together.--Don Snowden

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted

papyrock71   User offline   18 February 2016 09:57

Merci beaucoup

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.