Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Doc Watson, Clint Howard & Fred Price - Old Timey Concert (1991)

13-02-2016, 23:51
Country | Folk

Title: Old Timey Concert
Year Of Release: 1967/1991
Label: Vanguard Records
Genre: Folk, Country, Bluegrass, Old-Timey
Quality: 320 kbps
Total Time: 71:58
Total Size: 167 MB

1. Introduction (0:59)
2. New River Train (3:01)
3. What Does The Deep Sea Say (3:41)
4. Sunny Tennessee (3:43)
5. Walkin' In Jerusalem (2:09)
6. Sittin' On Top Of The World (3:33)
7. Pretty Little Pink (1:58)
8. My Home's Across The Blue Ridge Mountains (3:21)
9. Slewfoot (2:36)
10. Little Orphan Girl (3:14)
11. Long Journey Home (2:37)
12. Rank Stranger (2:56)
13. Crawdad (3:55)
14. Fire On The Mountain (2:45)
15. Eastbound Train (3:34)
16. On The Banks Of The Old Tennessee (3:30)
17. Mountain Dew (3:58)
18. Corrina Corrina (2:31)
19. Footprints In The Snow (4:03)
20. I Saw A Man At The Close Of The Day (3:11)
21. Cackling Hen (1:41)
22. Wanted Man (2:17)
23. Way Downtown (2:27)
24. Will The Circle Be Unbroken (4:12)

Vocals, Fiddle – Fred Price
Vocals, Guitar – Clint Howard
Vocals, Guitar, Mandolin, Harmonica, Banjo – Doc Watson

Although Doc Watson, Clint Howard, and Fred Price were giving similar concerts at the beginning of the '60s, this performance for the Seattle Folklore Society wasn't recorded until 1967. Nonetheless, it gives a good sense of the state of Watson's art before he went solo, finding him in cahoots with neighbors and friends and singing old-time material in an intimate setting. This album features a few solo performances by Watson and terrific, cheerful interplay among all three men. "Sunny Tennessee," "Walking in Jerusalem," "Crawdad," and "Will the Circle Be Unbroken" are highlights, but this is a highly entertaining concert throughout, with a few songs like "Mountain Dew" containing guitar breaks that are fast even by Watson's standards. As a side note, this album's track data are off slightly -- track one is given to Howard's spoken introduction, while "I Saw a Man at the Close of the Day/Cackling Hen," supposedly track 19, takes up tracks 20 and 21, bringing the total count to 24, not 22 as listed on the cover. ~by Jim Smith

My Blog
For requests/re-ups, please send me private message.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
4 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.