Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


The Byrds - The Essential Byrds [44 Track Version] (2003)

9-02-2016, 08:41
Country | Folk | Rock | FLAC / APE

Title: The Essential Byrds
Year Of Release: 2003
Label: Legacy/Columbia [512249 2]
Genre: Rock, Psychedelic, Folk, Coutry Rock
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks +.cue,log,scans)
Total Time: 2:07:40
Total Size: 414 mb / 939 mb

While the all-killer no-filler single-disc The Byrds' Greatest Hits remains the best distillation of their classic songs, The Essential Byrds is a smartly assembled double dose, including all 14 of the 1965-1967 tracks on Greatest Hits, but expanding its reach into their entire Columbia output, going as far as the early '70s. Inevitably, that means that disc two -- which goes, roughly, from mid-1967 to 1971 -- isn't as good as the first half, and that the last four tracks in particular are by far the least impressive, tagged on mostly so that the release spans the Byrds' entire Columbia catalog. That's a small reservation considering that the two-fer adds many first-rate songs not on Greatest Hits, from non-hit singles like "Lady Friend" and "Goin' Back" to standout album cuts like "Renaissance Fair," "Natural Harmony," "Jesus Is Just Alright," and "Chestnut Mare." There are no surprises here; even the songs that eluded inclusion on albums for many years, like the early B-side "She Don't Care About Time" and "Lady Friend," have been commonly available in the CD era. And it's true that this misses some other fine album tracks that could have stood with pride alongside those selected, like "I Knew I'd Want You," "John Riley," and "Dolphin's Smile." Within the confines of the two-CD format, though, it's a very well-chosen career overview.


Disc 1
1. Mr. Tambourine Man (2:31)
2. I'll Feel A Whole Lot Better (2:34)
3. All I Really Want To Do (2:06)
4. The Bells Of Rhymney (3:32)
5. Chimes Of Freedom (3:53)
6. Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is A Season) (3:51)
7. She Don't Care About Time (Single Version) (2:31)
8. It Won't Be Wrong (2:00)
9. Lay Down You Weary Tune (3:32)
10. Set You Free This Time (2:51)
11. He Was A Friend Of Mine (2:32)
12. The Times They Are A-Changin' (2:20)
13. Eight Miles High (3:36)
14. 5D (Fifth Dimension) (2:34)
15. Wild Mountain Thyme (2:32)
16. Mr. Spaceman (2:11)
17. So You Want To Be A Rock 'N' Roll Star (2:08)
18. Have You Seen Her Face (2:41)
19. Time Between (1:55)
20. Renaissance Fair (1:54)
21. My Back Pages (3:10)
22. Dolphin's Smile (1:58)

Disc 2
1. Artificial Energy (2:21)
2. Old John Robertson (Single Version) (1:55)
3. Goin' Back (3:28)
4. Natural Harmony (2:13)
5. Wasn't Born To Follow (2:04)
6. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere (2:35)
7. Hickory Wind (3:34)
8. Nothing Was Delivered (3:26)
9. This Wheel's On Fire (4:47)
10. Drug Store Truck Drivin' Man (3:56)
11. Your Gentle Way Of Loving Me (2:37)
12. Ballad Of Easy Rider (2:06)
13. Jesus Is Just Alright (2:12)
14. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue (Alternate Mix) (4:55)
15. Lover Of The Bayou (Live) (3:41)
16. Chestnut Mare (5:10)
17. Glory, Glory (4:03)
18. Jamaica Say You Will (3:28)
19. I Wanna Grow Up To Be A Politician (2:04)
20. Tiffany Queen (2:42)
21. Antique Sandy (2:15)
22. Farther Along (2:57)

The Byrds include: Roger McGuinn, David Crosby, Gram Parsons, Clarence White (vocals, guitar); Chris Hillman (vocals, bass); Gene Clark (vocals); Michael Clarke, Gene Parsons (drums).

Producers include: Terry Melcher, Allen Stanton, Gary Usher, Bob Johnston, Jim Dickinson.

TurboBit | Uploaded

cbr 320 kbps
TurboBit | Uploaded


Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
6 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.