Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Bill Frisell - When You Wish Upon A Star (2016) HDtracks

1-02-2016, 18:27
Top | Jazz | FLAC / APE | HD & Vinyl

Title: When You Wish Upon A Star
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: OKeh Records
Genre: Jazz
Quality: 320 / 24bit-88.2kHz FLAC
Total Time: 63:26
Total Size: 146 MB / 1.26 GB


1 To Kill a Mockingbird, Pt. 1
2 To Kill a Mockingbird, Pt. 2
3 You Only Live Twice
4 Psycho, Pt. 1
5 Psycho, Pt. 2
6 The Shadow of Your Smile
7 Bonanza
8 Once Upon a Time in the West (Theme)
9 As a Judgement
10 Farewell to Cheyenne
11 When You Wish Upon a Star
12 Tales from the Far Side
13 Moon River
14 The Godfather
15 The Bad and the Beautiful
16 Happy Trails

When You Wish Upon A Star, the latest project from legendary Grammy-winning guitarist/composer Bill Frisell via OKeh Records. Comprised of music from iconic film and television scores, the LP is conceived not only as homage, but as a celebration of music-making with long time collaborators and their collective commitment to refined interpretation of material.

The cornerstones of the album are four “suites” of music that reside deep within the collective psyche: To Kill A Mockingbird, Psycho, Once Upon A Time In The West and The Godfather. These are joined by new versions of well-known songs that describe the mysterious power of dreams: “You Only Live Twice,” “The Shadow Of Your Smile,” “Moon River” and “When You Wish Upon A Star.” Finally, the set is rounded out with music from TV series “Bonanza” and “Happy Trails,” the film noir classic The Bad and The Beautiful and Frisell’s own work from the TV show “Tales From The Far Side.” Taken together, the selections touch upon a wide swath of mid-twentieth century values, major events and cultural touchstones. “I've been watching TV and movies my whole life,” Frisell notes. “What I’ve seen and heard there is a huge part of, and is embedded so deeply into the fabric of what fires up my musical imagination.”

The LP brings together an all-star “dream team” of Frisell’s frequent partners in crime: violist Eyvind Kang, drummer Rudy Royston, bass player Thomas Morgan and vocalist Petra Haden.

Born in Baltimore, Frisell played clarinet throughout his childhood in Denver, Colorado. His interest in guitar began with his exposure to pop music on the radio. Soon, Chicago Blues became a passion through the work of Otis Rush, B.B. King, Paul Butterfield and Buddy Guy. Frisell studied music at the University of Northern Colorado before attending Berklee College of Music in Boston where he studied with John Damian, Herb Pomeroy and Michael Gibbs. In 1978, Frisell moved for a year to Belgium where he concentrated on writing music. He then moved to the New York City area in 1979 and stayed until 1989. He now lives in Seattle. He has released over 40 albums and won as many awards, including a 2005 “Best Contemporary Jazz Album” Grammy for his LP Unspeakable.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
5 voted

gibheid   User offline   1 February 2016 20:49

Thanks sddd.

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like

Dasantor   User offline   2 February 2016 23:42

Muchas Gracias ¡¡

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.