Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Mike Nock, Bennie Maupin, Cecil McBee, Eddie Marshall - Almanac (1967) 320 kbps

28-01-2016, 22:06

Title: Almanac
Year Of Release: 1967
Label: Improvising Artists
Genre: Jazz, Fusion, Neo Bop
Quality: MP3/320 kbps
Total Time: 32:57
Total Size: 79 MB(+3%)


01. Specific Gravity One (Nock) - 6:27
02. Symbiosis (Nock) - 5:29
03. Emotivations (Nock) - 4:14
04. Almanac (Maupin) - 6:18
05. Hallucinogen (Nock) - 3:45
06. Double Split (Nock) - 3:50
07. J.C. Dudley (Nock) - 2:56

personnel :

Mike Nock - piano
Bennie Maupin - flute, tenor saxophone
Eddie Marshall - drums
Cecil McBee - bass

This quartet set was an unusual release for Paul Bley's Improvising Artists label in that the music was not comprised of free improvisations and the session was actually recorded independently and then bought by the company. The 1967 session was an early effort by pianist Mike Nock, Bennie Maupin (who doubles on tenor and flute and often sounds here a bit like Joe Henderson), bassist Cecil McBee and drummer Eddie Marshall. Together they perform seven of Nock's post bop originals and there is enough adventure in the music to hold on to one's interest. This set has been reissued on CD through Black Saint/Soul Note.~Scott Yanow

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.