Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Bill Harris - The Blues-Soul Of Bill Harris: Complete Mercury Recordings 1956-1959 (2013)

26-01-2016, 22:46

Title: The Blues-Soul Of Bill Harris: Complete Mercury Recordings 1956-1959
Year Of Release: 2013
Label: Fresh Sound Records
Genre: Jazz: Guitar Jazz, Bop, Swing
Quality: 320 kbps
Total Time: 128:32
Total Size: 305 MB

CD 1:
01. Stompin' At The Savoy (2:19)
02. Moonglow (2:33)
03. Cherokee (1:33)
04. Out Of Nowhere (3:00)
05. Ethyl (2:44)
06. Possessed (2:46)
07. Perdido (2:39)
08. I Can't Get Started (1:50)
09. Dreaming (2:35)
10. K. C. Shuffle (2:18)
11. Ivanhoe (2:09)
12. Lover (2:22)
13. Spring (1:42)
14. Baker's Dozen (1:46)
15. Golden Sunset (2:37)
16. Honeysuckle Rose (2:57)
17. Midnight Blue (3:04)
18. Yesterdays (1:55)
19. The Harris Touch (3:28)
20. All The Things You Are (2:55)
21. 'S Wonderful (2:19)
22. Sometimes I'm Happy (2:36)
23. Rock Bottom Blues (4:22)
24. The Man I Love (2:32)

CD 2:
01. Lullaby Of Birdland (2:39)
02. Blue Angel (2:04)
03. The Song Is You (2:42)
04. Daahoud (2:00)
05. Ethyl (2:05)
06. Wind Song (2:03)
07. Ol' Man River (3:35)
08. Once In A While (2:51)
09. Poinciana (Song Of The Tree) (2:05)
10. Concerto For Jazz Guitar (Your Majesty) (3:13)
11. Jordu (1:45)
12. Lover (6:55)
13. All The Things You Are (1:50)
14. Poinciana (Song Of The Tree) (Alt Take) (2:37)
15. Well You Needn't (3:25)
16. Intaglio Monk Parts 1 & 2 (6:13)
17. Stompin' At The Savoy (2:26)
18. Possessed (1:27)
19. Cherokee (4:42)
20. The Song Is You (3:37)
21. Where Is Big Joe Williams Blues (3:20)
22. Ethyl (3:35)

CD 1 - Tracks #1-12, from the album
“Bill Harris” (Mercury/EmArcy MG 36097)
CD 1 - Tracks #13-24, from the album
“The Harris Touch” (Mercury/EmArcy MG 36113)

CD 2 - Tracks #1-11, from the album
“Great Guitar Sounds” (Mercury/Wing MGW 12220)
CD 2 - Tracks #12-22, from the album
“Caught in the Act” (Jazz Guitar JGLP 100)

BILL HARRIS: Bill Harris, guitar solos
Recorded in New York City, 1956

THE HARRIS TOUCH: Bill Harris, classical and electric guitar; Hank Jones, piano and celeste; unidentified bassist, drummer, and bongo player
Recorded in New York City, May 2 (#15,16,18,21,23,24) & 21 (#13,14,17,19,20), 1957

GREAT GUITAR SOUNDS: Bill Harris, guitar solos
Recorded in New York City, 1959

CAUGHT IN THE ACT: Bill Harris, guitar solos
Recorded at Cafritz Auditorium, Washington D.C., December, 1962

4 LPs on 2 CDs + Two Bonus Tracks. Digitally Remastered.

When Bill Harris recorded his first album as a leader in 1956, he had already been the electric guitar accompanist for The Clovers one of the most outstanding r&b vocal groups since 1949. Fellow guitarist Mickey Baker recommended him to Mercury/EmArcy s a&r head, Bob Shad, and it is to Shad s credit that he gave Harris so much scope on his debut. The full colored natural sound of Harris s unamplified Spanish guitar is a rare and interesting pleasure. In the words of Nat Hentoff, the blues-soul of Harris courses richly through everything he plays.
On his second album for the label, The Harris Touch, Bill was backed by a conventional rhythm section and a bongo player. The session featured the excellent piano work of Hank Jones, with three of the tunes vehicles to showcase of Harris s electric guitar. On the Mercury/Wing album, Harris again performs solo, displaying his remarkable feeling for the unamplified guitar in both jazz and semi-classical contexts. The fourth album on this set is also a solo recital, recorded during a Bill Harris concert in Washington in 1962. Harris plays with engaging easiness in a live program which mainly includes material from the other three albums, demonstrating his abilities as an improviser of lovely, rhythmically resilient variations.
Down Beat magazine defined his style as a combination of beauty, lyricism, charm and solid strength. This collection of performances is both a masterpiece of guitar versatility and a master class in improvisation.

My Blog
For requests/re-ups, please send me private message.

Download CD 1:
Uploaded | Turbobit | Hitfile
Download CD 2:
Uploaded | Turbobit | Hitfile

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.