Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Otis Clay - Got To Find A Way: The Beginning (1990)

19-01-2016, 20:27
Blues | Soul

Title: Got To Find A Way: The Beginning
Year Of Release: 1979/1990
Label: Blues Interactions
Genre: Blues Soul
Quality: 320 kbps
Total Time: 51:27
Total Size: 125 MB

1. Got To Find A Way (2:37)
2. Wrapped Up In Her Love (2:18)
3. I Don't Know What I'd Do (2:54)
4. Cry Cry Cry (2:33)
5. A Flame In Your Heart (2:57)
6. Tired Of Falling In And Out Of Love (2:41)
7. I Paid The Price (2:48)
8. I'm Satisfied (2:50)
9. I Testify (2:21)
10. It's Easier Said Than Done (2:54)
11. I Lost Someone (2:55)
12. Funny Life (2:46)
13. This Love Of Mine (3:16)
14. Nothing To Look Forward To (2:48)
15. Come My Dear (2:23)
16. That's How It Is (2:38)
17. Must I Keep On Waiting (2:40)
18. Don't Pass Me By (2:43)
19. That'll Get You What You Want (2:16)

A Japanese import, it features nineteen early Chicago tracks from 1965-1967.

Otis Clay made most of his best-known records in Memphis during the early '70s, but he's still universally hailed as Chicago's deep soul king. In a city filled to overflowing with legendary blues artists, Clay has become the proud standard-bearer for Chicago's enduring soul tradition.

Like so many of his contemporaries, Clay's intense vocal style reflects a gospel background. He made the secular jump in 1965, signing with Chicago's One-derful Records and issuing a series of gospel-tinged soul records that were a lot grittier than the customary Windy City soul sound. Clay inaugurated Atlantic's Cotillion subsidiary in 1968 with a supercharged cover of the Sir Douglas Quintet's "She's About a Mover," produced by Rick Hall in Muscle Shoals shortly before the singer joined forces with Hi Records boss Willie Mitchell. With the relentlessly driving Hi Rhythm Section in tow, Clay waxed his biggest seller in 1972, "Trying to Live My Life Without You," later covered very successfully by Bob Seger.

Although Clay's tenure on Hi may have been his most commercially potent, he steadily recorded and gigged ever since. He is a genuine hero in Japan, where he's recorded two sizzling live albums filled with the churning grooves, punchy horns, and searing vocals that inevitably characterize the best deep soul -- no matter where it's recorded, a fact proved by another live set recorded in Switzerland in 2003, Respect Yourself, and released in 2005 by Blind Pig Records. In 2007, Clay returned to the studio and recorded the gospel album Walk a Mile in My Shoes on his Chicago-based Echo label. ~by Bill Dahl

My Blog
For requests/re-ups, please send me private message.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.