Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Gong - Angel's Egg [Japanese Mini LP SHM-CD] (2015)

18-01-2016, 08:47
French | Rock | FLAC / APE

Title: Angel's Egg [Japanese Mini LP SHM-CD]
Year Of Release: 2015 (1973)
Label: Universal Music [UICY-77296]
Genre: Psychedelic Rock / Prog Rock
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue+.log,scans)
Total Time: 55::36
Total Size: 475 MB

Review by David Ross Smith, AMG:
The companion piece to The Flying Teapot, Angel's Egg is not your usual progressive rock album. Very quirky, with many, mostly brief compositions, the album is a tad less spacy than Teapot, with just a few psychedelic-inspired lyrics, and it's very technically adept. Angel's Egg opens with a true space rock cut (one of the few on the album), filled with the usual Gilli Smyth space whispering and Daevid Allen voicings, then leads into the cleverly titled "Sold to the Highest Buddha," with Steve Hillage and Didier Malherbe prominent figures. The instrumental "Castle in the Clouds" finds Hillage coming into his own, with a sound identical to his solo work. "Givin' My Love to You" sounds like a bar song, with no music and a cluster of seemingly drunken fellas trying to sing. The instrumental "Flute Salad" gives way to "Oily Way," a showcase for Malherbe's jazzy flute. "Inner Temple," an instrumental space rock track, moves along with a jazz edge, provided by Malherbe's sax. The final three tracks are the real highlights on Angel's Egg. "I Never Glid Before" is a fantastic prog rock tune, replete with blistering Hillage solo, primo Allen lyrics and vocal, and the precise percussion of new bandmember Pierre Moerlen. This eclectic composition travels through several movements and time changes, and comes across as a perpetually progressing piece. The imaginative and jazzy "Eat That Phone Book Coda" brings the album to a close.


01. Other Side Of The Sky 07:38
02. Sold To The Highest Buddha 04:28
03. Castle In The Clouds 01:12
04. Prostitute Poem 04:53
05. Givin My Luv To You 00:47
06. Selene 03:42
07. Flute Salad 02:09
08. Oily Way 03:37
09. Outer Temple 01:08
10. Inner Temple 02:34
11. Percolations 00:45
12. Love Is How Y Make It 03:28
13. I Never Glid Before 05:37
14. Eat That Phone Book Coda 03:14

Bonus Tracks:
15. Other Side Of The Sky (Single Version) 04:36
16. Love Is How Y Make It (1973 Vocal Mix) 02:32
17. Eat That Phone Book Coda (Early Version) 03:09

Gong - Angel's Egg [Japanese Mini LP SHM-CD] (2015)

Gong - Angel's Egg [Japanese Mini LP SHM-CD] (2015)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.