Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Royal Southern Brotherhood - Royal Southern Brotherhood (2012) FLAC

14-01-2016, 16:08
Music | Blues | FLAC / APE

Title: Royal Southern Brotherhood
Year Of Release: 2012
Label: Ruf Records
Genre: Modern Electric Blues
Quality: FLAC (image + .cue)
Total Time: 00:51:51
Total Size: 307 mb


1. New Horizons (4:50)
2. Fired Up! (5:45)
3. Left My Heart in Memphis (3:30)
4. Moonlight Over the Mississippi (3:45)
5. Fire on the Mountain (4:56)
6. Ways About You (4:40)
7. Gotta Keep Rockin' (4:39)
8. Nowhere to Hide (2:44)
9. Hurts My Heart (4:14)
10. Sweet Jelly Donut (5:44)
11. All Around the World (3:12)
12. Brotherhood (3:52)

This blues-roots rock supergroup of sorts features musicians bred, if not always born, in the South. The only real royalty would be singer/songwriter/percussionist Cyril Neville, who shares lead vocals with younger but still established blues-rock journeymen guitarists Mike Zito and Devon Allman. Bassist Charlie Wooton from Zydefunk and ex-Derek Trucks drummer Yonrico Scott comprise the solid rhythm section rounding out this quintet. With all this instrumental and vocal firepower, the musical possibilities of mixing Neville's familial, funky New Orleans swamp with Zito's soulful blues and Allman's tougher rock are enticing. While there is plenty to whet your appetite, there is a surprising lack of top-quality songs for these guys to dig into. A few corkers such as the Latin-tinged "Fired Up!" and the rubbery groove of "Moonlight Over the Mississippi," both sung by Neville, and Zito's terrific ballad "Ways About You" show the band can coalesce around a great tune. The problem is there just aren't enough of them. Zito, Neville, and Allman write the bulk of the material in various combinations but tunes such as "Gotta Keep Rockin'" and "Hurts My Heart" are as simplistic as their titles. Going outside to cover the Dead's reggae-tinged "Fire on the Mountain" — the album's only non-original — makes sense and it's an inspired performance, especially by the always impressive Neville, whose traditionally gutsy singing is the band's secret weapon. But an aimless Santana-styled closing instrumental jam credited to all the members is filler, something first albums should not have. In concert the three songwriters can fall back on their own catalogs to pick and choose quality tunes, and the sheer instrumental talents of the players carry them through. Yet compositionally, this is a tentative debut that shows tons of promise but feels rushed and not completely baked. Some tough guitar soloing and Jim Gaines' always professional production keeps the sound hot, but with the enormous potential of the members, it's disappointing. Perhaps with some roadwork and more time together the next release will fulfill the Brotherhood's possibilities.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 80
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.