Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Augustus Pablo - The Mystic World Of Augustus Pablo [4CD] (2008) (LOSSLESS & MP3)

10-01-2016, 18:34
Reggae | FLAC / APE

Title: The Mystic World Of Augustus Pablo
Year Of Release: 2008
Label: Shanachie
Genre: Reggae, Dub
Quality: FLAC (Tracks)/MP3 320 kbps
Total Time: 04:08:31 min
Total Size: 1,54 Gb/596 mb

Jamaica's Augustus Pablo took what was essentially a child's toy, the melodica, and turned it into something else again. The exotic, eerie, slightly Far Eastern and delicately mournful sound that Pablo coaxed from the instrument soon became a staple of Jamaican reggae and dub releases in the 1970s. Given his reticent nature, though, and his tendency to avoid the limelight, Pablo never achieved commercial stardom (if indeed that was ever even an aim of his) and while his influence on modern Jamaican music is immense, he actually only had one hit on the island, his 1971 single "Java," which single-handedly ushered in the so-called "rockers" style (the version collected here is a re-do from 1982). This five disc (four discs of music and a disc of videos) overview of Pablo's life and canon probably won't change that, but this kind of survey of his vital and unique achievements in the recording studio is exactly what his many admirers have been waiting for, and for the most part, it delivers the goods in fine style. Every aspect of Pablo's talent is touched on here, from his session work with seemingly every musician on the island, his innovative dub efforts, his fascinating solo projects, and his later work as a producer and nurturer of new talent. Among the key tracks included here are "East of the River Nile" (in its definitive 1977 version), "King Tubby Meets Rockers Uptown" (a restructuring of "Cassava Piece" and an acknowledged dub classic), and the intriguing "AP Special," which features Pablo playing the xylophone (Pablo could play countless instruments, including guitar, piano, and organ, as well as the melodica). Pablo was partial to minor key arrangements, and the so-called "Far East" sound that resulted from this fascination is as haunting as it was influential and pervasive, and aside from maybe Yabby You, few Jamaican musicians pursued the dark, lonely beauty of the minor keys with Pablo's focused devotion. This set shows the breadth and consistency of Pablo's musical vision, but it really isn't for the casual listener, since Pablo's sound can get a bit overwhelming and it really doesn't vary a whole lot, so a single disc selection like Original Rockers or East of the River Nile might make for a better starting point for those new to this utterly unique musician.

Augustus Pablo - The Mystic World Of Augustus Pablo [4CD] (2008) (LOSSLESS & MP3) Augustus Pablo - The Mystic World Of Augustus Pablo [4CD] (2008) (LOSSLESS & MP3)
1. East Of The River Nile (2:51)
2. False Rasta (2:32)
3. 555 Crown Street (2:34)
4. 555 Dub (2:41)
5. Love Wont Come Easy (5:33)
6. Take It Easy (3:21)
7. Frozen Dub (2:52)
8. Baby I Love You So (2:28)
9. Cassava Piece (2:32)
10. King Tubby Meets Rockers Uptown (2:33)
11. Skanking Easy (2:36)
12. Skanking Dub (2:42)
13. Blackman Heart (3:08)
14. Blackman Must Be Free (By The Year 1983) (2:29)
15. Park Lane Special (2:49)
16. Keep On Dubbing (3:07)
17. Selassie Verandah (3:20)
18. El Rockers I (2:44)
19. Changing World (3:15)
20. Havendale Rock (2:41)
21. Why Do Blackman Fuss And Fight (5:55)
22. Rockers Meets King Tubby Ina Firehouse (4:03)
23. AP Special (2:49)
24. Earth Wind And Fire (5:51)
25. Think Twice (3:01)
26. Israel In Harmony (6:48)
27. Vibrate On (4:39)
28. Silent Sata (4:06)
29. Black Forces (2:25)
30. Ital Sip (3:35)
31. Thunder Clap (2:34)
32. Lets Get Started (3:42)
33. Pablo Dread Ina Red (3:08)
34. Earths Rightful Ruler (4:39)
35. Jah Light (2:15)
36. Entrance To Jah World (6:35)
37. King Davids Melody (3:20)
38. Short Man Dub (3:17)
39. Raggamuffin Year (4:14)
40. Java (3:27)
41. Upfull Living (4:52)
42. Rude Boy (3:53)
43. Creation Blues (3:47)
44. Drums To The King (7:02)
45. One Day (3:48)
46. Zion Way Dub (3:46)
47. Eastern Code (4:05)
48. No War (3:53)
49. Drum Song (3:54)
50. Iggy Iggy (3:01)
51. Pablo In Dub (3:00)
52. Hap-Ki-Do (3:34)
53. Stop Them Jah (12" mix) (5:51)
54. Humble Yourself (7" version) (3:18)
55. Humble Version (3:04)
56. Foxhole (3:42)
57. Son Of Man Dub (4:00)
58. One In The Spirit (extended 12" mix) (8:27)
59. Twin Seal (extended 12" mix) (6:27)
60. Cant Keep A Good Man Down (7 " mix) (3:01)
61. Cant Keep A Good Dub Down (2:53)
62. Freedom Fighter (3:57)
63. Third Eye (3:11)
64. Third Eye Version (3:08)
65. Zion A Fe Lion (2:33)
66. Abashanti Dub (2:49)
67. Full Up (12" extended version) (4:24)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 80
4 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.