Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Barney Wilen - Modern Nostalgie (Starbust Forever) - 320kbps

9-01-2016, 06:30

Title: Modern Nostalgie (Starbust Forever)
Year Of Release: 1991
Label: Alfa Jazz ‎
Genre: Jazz
Quality: Mp3 / 320kbps
Total Time: 65:58 min
Total Size: 155 MB

01. Forever
02. Angelica
03. Recado
04. Espinhos Do Ser
05. Wave
06. Bemsha Swing
07. Darn That Dream
08. Stardust
09. In A Sentimental Mood
10. J'ai Le Cafard
11. Tu Ne Sais Pas Aimer
12. Tenderly
13. As Time Goes By

Barney Wilen's mother was French, his father a successful American dentist-turned-inventor. He grew up mostly on the French Riviera; the family left during World War II but returned upon its conclusion. According to Wilen himself, he was convinced to become a musician by his mother's friend, the poet Blaise Cendrars. As a teenager he started a youth jazz club in Nice, where he played often. He moved to Paris in the mid-'50s and worked with such American musicians as Bud Powell, Benny Golson, Miles Davis, and J.J. Johnson at the Club St. Germain. His emerging reputation received a boost in 1957 when he played with Davis on the soundtrack to the Louis Malle film Lift to the Scaffold. Two years later, he performed with Art Blakey and Thelonious Monk on the soundtrack to Roger Vadim's Les Liaisons Dangereuses (1960). Wilen began working in a rock-influenced style during the '60s, recording an album entitled Dear Prof. Leary in 1968. In the early '70s, Wilen led a failed expedition of filmmakers, musicians, and journalists to travel to Africa to document pygmy music. Later Wilen played in a punk rock band called Moko and founded a French Jazzmobile-type organization that took music to people living in outlying areas. He also worked in theater. By the mid-'90s, he was working once again in a bebop vein in a band with the pianist Laurent de Wilde. Much of Wilen's later work was documented on the Japanese Venus label. ~ Chris Kelsey

Personnel: Barney Wilen Sax (Tener, Alto, Soprano); Olivier Hutman (Piano); Gilles Naturel (Bass ); Peter Gritz (Drums); Rovert Persi (Piano); Leonardo Ribeiro (Guitar); Serge Marne (Percussion); Marie Moor (Vocal)

Turbobit: Download

Uploaded: Download

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.