Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra & Edward Gardner - Janáček: Orchestral Works, Volume 2 (2015)

5-01-2016, 10:10
Classical Music | FLAC / APE

Title: Janáček: Orchestral Works, Volume 2
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Chandos
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC
Total Time: 77:42
Total Size: 317 MB


01 - Jealousy
02 - Violin Concerto 'The Wandering of a Little Soul'
03 - The Ballad of Blanik
04 - The Fiddler's Child - I. Con moto
05 - II. Larghetto
06 - III. Allegro - Maestoso
07 - The Danube - I. Andante
08 - II. [No tempo marking] - Un poco più mosso
09 - III. Allegro
10 - IV. [Allegretto]
11 - Taras Bulba - I. The Death of Andrei
12 - II. The Death of Ostap
13 - III. The Prophesy and the Death of Taras Bulba

This is the second volume in our series devoted to the orchestral works of Janáek, with the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra and Edward Gardner. The repertoire on this disc includes some of the greatest programmatic pieces by the composer.

Unsurprisingly, the first piece featured here is Jealousy his first declared piece of programme music, originally written to preface the opera Jenfa but never included in any production of it during his lifetime. Both The Ballad of Blaník and The Fiddler's Child (also known as a 'ballad for orchestra') are characterised by the use of musicals symbols, reflecting the Czech poems on which the pieces are based and also some of the composer's personal reflections and responses.

The one-movement violin concerto The Wandering of a Little Soul is a more mysterious piece, with uncertainties surrounding the title, the date of creation, and the goals of its composition. Like the unfinished Danube symphony, the version recorded here has been reconstructed by Milo tdro and Leo Faltus from Janáek's sketches.

An interpretation of the famous tale by Gogol, Taras Bulba was completed in 1915 and was Janáek's most substantial orchestral work to date. It is inflected with folk dances, battle and horse-riding music, suffering and love, and brought to a grandiloquent apotheosis, in orchestration of almost cinematic vividness.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted

platico   User offline   7 January 2016 06:25

Gracias por compartir...

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.