Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - I Didn't Know They Still Made Records Like This (1975)

4-01-2016, 18:30
Pop | Folk | Rock | FLAC / APE

Title: I Didn't Know They Still Made Records Like This
Year Of Release: 1975
Label: Warner Bros. [PRO 608]
Genre: Rock, Folk, Pop
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks,vinyl,scans)
Total Time: 1:31:06
Total Size: 322 mb / 620 mb

Something about the 1975 Loss Leader, I Didn’t Know They Still Made Records Like This, seems a little different… yet the same. Starting with the album cover, whose design reeks of some long-ignored graphics designer and photographer teaming up to hatch a surefire scheme to meet hot cover models. Then there’s the curious song selection. It’s always great to hear Van Morrison’s “Moondance,” but the album it came from was released five years prior, in 1970, while Randy Newman’s “Mama Told Me Not To Come” comes from his already ancient ’71 live album. Joni Mitchell’s “Carey” is from her 1971 LP, Blue, and Arlo Guthrie’s cover of “City Of New Orleans” was first issued in 1972. Now… these are all great songs, and considered ‘should-owns’ for any collection, but on the surface it looks like Warners didn’t have any new music to promote. Perhaps they were just pushing the back catalog, or maybe it’s as the cover suggests… they don’t make records like this anymore, and here are some of them again to remind you. The uncredited liner notes offer no reasoning, and are more historical than revelatory. So, I Didn’t Know They Still Made Records Like This ends up being an oddball entry in the ongoing series… one that wasn’t even advertised all that much (if at all) via inner sleeves, either. All the while stylistically seeming like an earlier edition in the series, thanks to the older material. Something I didn’t know (or just refused to remember) is that Leo Sayer’s career was kickstarted when The Who’s Roger Daltry specifically picked him to write songs for his debut solo album. Now you know who to blame.


Disc 1:
01 - Seals & Crofts - I'll Play for You
02 - Bonnie Raitt - You Got to Be Ready for Love
03 - Leo Sayer - One Man Band
04 - Dionne Warwick - Then Came You
05 - Van Morrison - Moondance
06 - Fleetwood Mac - Rhiannon
07 - James Taylor - How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved by You)
08 - Marcia Waldorf - The Rhythm of the South
09 - Arlo Guthrie - The City of New Orleans
10 - Randy Newman - Birmingham
11 - Cher - Geronimo's Cadillac
12 - Emmylou Harris - If I Could Only Win Your Love
13 - Chris Ducey - Hula Rocka Hula

Disc 2:
01 - Joni Mitchell - Carey
02 - Randy Newman - Mama Told Me Not to Come
03 - John Sebastian - Singing the Blues
04 - Maria Muldaur - Oh Papa
05 - Kenny Rankin - Silver Morning
06 - Waldo de Los Rios - Beethoven: Symphony No. 7 in A Major, Op. 92, 2nd Movement (Allegretto)
07 - San Sebastian Strings - Declaration/Atlas
08 - Gordon Lightfoot - Rainy Day People
09 - Gregg Allman - These Days
10 - Rex Allen Jr. - I Can See Clearly Now
11 - Wendy Waldman - Spring Is Here
12 - Jesse Colin Young - Songbird
13 - Rod McKuen - They're Playing Our Song

TurboBit | Uploaded

cbr 320 kbps
TurboBit | Uploaded


Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
6 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.