Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Marlene Verplanck - Meets Saxomania In Paris (1994)

30-12-2015, 20:18
Jazz | Vocal Jazz

Title: Meets Saxomania In Paris
Year Of Release: 1994
Label: Audiophile Records
Genre: Jazz Vocals
Quality: FLAC | MP3
Total Time: 55:35
Total Size: 319 MB | 132 MB

1. You Turned The Tables On Me (3:43)
2. El Cajon (4:02)
3. Left Bank Blues (3:47)
4. Rain Sometimes (2:57)
5. Close Your Eyes (3:25)
6. Sooner Or Later (2:53)
7. I Got The Sun In The Morning (3:10)
8. Here's To Life (4:13)
9. Speak Low (2:34)
10. Namely You (3:07)
11. Medley What's The Rush - Five Brothers (6:00)
12. Something To Live For (3:35)
13. Everything But You (4:22)
14. I Ain't Got Nothin' But The Blues (4:42)
15. I'm Just A Lucky So And So (2:58)

Marlene Ver Planck possesses one of the world's great voices; every note she hits is perfectly in tune. Despite this talent, she is a subtle improviser who goes out of her way to bring out the beauty of the lyrics she interprets. Occasionally she will throw in a high note (as if to remind listeners of her wide range), but it is all in the service of uplifting the song. Her husband/arranger, Billy Ver Planck, wrote colorful charts on this CD for the French seven-piece, four-reed unit called Saxomania to accompany her. He left plenty of room for solos and gave the ensembles the feel of a big band despite the absence of any brass instruments. Marlene Ver Planck is in peak form, and even if a few of the newer songs ("Sooner or Later" from the Dick Tracy film and the overrated "Here's to Life") are not worthy of her, she is particularly delightful on "You Turned the Tables on Me," "Close Your Eyes," "Speak Low," and a quartet of Ellington and Strayhorn tunes. ~Scott Yanow

My Blog
For requests/re-ups, please send me private message.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.