Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Hoff Ensemble: Quiet Winter Night - An Acoustic Jazz Project (2011) {Blu-ray 1080i}

24-12-2015, 21:20

Title: Quiet Winter Night – An Acoustic Jazz Project
Year Of Release: 2011
Label: 2L
Genre: Jazz
Quality: Blu-Ray MPEG-4 / 1920x1080 / 16:9, DTS-HD MA 5.1/LPCM 2.0
Total Time: 00:48:08 min
Total Size: 15,6 Gb

HOFF ENSEMBLE consists of some of Norway's finest jazz and session musicians, fronted by trumpeter Mathias Eick, of ECM renown, who plays a leading role in several of the compositions. The ensemble's basic quartet features legendary veteran bassist Arild Andersen and arranger Jan Gunnar Hoff on piano. Hoff has performed with his own group since 1993, collaborating with such artists as Mike Stern, Pat Metheny, Maria Joao and Alex Acuna. This time in this great Norwegian band he mixes flavours in a "cross-over" setting. Eick, with whom Hoff has worked on earlier projects, was the obvious first choice for QUIET WINTER NIGHT, along with Andersen and the rest of the band, complemented by Rune Arnesen (ex N.P.Molvær) on percussion and Børge Petersen-Øverleir, Norway's leading session guitarist.

Brilliant fiddle player Annbjørg Lien is an exciting addition to the HOFF ENSEMBLE, giving QUIET WINTER NIGHT a sound that is definitely Nordic with elements of jazz, folk and beyond, making this an interesting and original journey. On some of the instrumental tracks, like "Blågutten", Eick and Petersen-Øverleir create an overall jazz/fusion sound, while the trio setting of "Redd Mamma" is reminiscent of the work of Sweden's Jan Johansson. "Hva skal hende nå" bears comparison with Metheny's ballad form, yet with a more rock-influenced guitar sound. This tune also includes a great bass solo by Andersen.

The music is created by film composers Geir Bøhren and Bent Åserud and among the vocalists are some of Norway's top names (and Universal artists) in popular music: Helene Bøksle, Åsne Valland Nordli, Sondre Bratland, Unni Wilhelmsen, Tomine Harket, Bjørn Johan Muri, Cecilia Vennersten and Bjørn Eidsvåg.

Hoff Ensemble: Quiet Winter Night - An Acoustic Jazz Project (2011) {Blu-ray 1080i} Hoff Ensemble: Quiet Winter Night - An Acoustic Jazz Project (2011) {Blu-ray 1080i}
01. Dronning Fjellrose
02. Stille, stille kommer vi
03. Dele alle ord og tanker
04. Redd Mamma
05. Sulla, sulla krekling
06. Blågutten
07. Ville fjellgutt
08. Hva skal hende nå?
09. Ved bålet
10. Tufsa danser
11. Vesle, rare bygdeunge
12. En blånissekveld
13. Kveldslokk for små unger
14. Lys i desember

Hoff Ensemble: Quiet Winter Night - An Acoustic Jazz Project (2011) {Blu-ray 1080i}

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.