Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Carol Fredette - No Sad Songs For Me (2014) Lossless

21-12-2015, 18:00
Music | Jazz | Vocal Jazz | FLAC / APE

Title: No Sad Songs For Me
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Soundbrush Records
Genre: Jazz, Vocal Jazz
Quality: Flac
Total Time: 48:43
Total Size: 324 Mb


01. I Am In Love
02. No Sad Songs For Me
03. It's Good To Be Alive
04. The Best Thing For You
05. To Love And Be Loved
06. You'd Better Love Me
07. Chovendo Na Roseira (Double Rainbow)
08. You're Getting To Be A Habit With Me
09. Havin' Myself A Time
10. This Is Always
11. Dancing In The Dark
12. Long Ago And Far Away
13. You'd Better Go Now
14. No Regrets

We last heard from vocalist Carol Fredette on her first Soundbrush recording, Everything in Time (2009). Her repertoire was replete with, "Light latin jazz, humid islands, and secure mainstream treatments." Fredette remains fairly true to this mix of styles on No Sad Songs For Me, specifically addressing all songs of upbeat content, if not tempo. The singer calls upon much the same band as on the previous recording, specifically pianists Helio Alves, Dario Eskenazi and Andy Ezrin.
It is notable that No Sad Songs For Me is executive produced by Pablo Aslan and Roger Davidson, two names closely associated with Latin jazz and bossa nova, styles that potently inform Fredette's repertoire here. Fredette is serious about the title and title tune for this recording. It is surprising she included Jobim's "Double Rainbow" and not his "No More Blues." These songs are upbeat and the universal mood of this recording is supercharged positive.
Fredette commands Bob Merrill's "It's Good to be Alive" and Irving Berlin's "The Best Thing for You." The former she treats as a delicate ballad and the later Latin-infused and simmered on high heat, Kevin Winard's percussion being particularly effective. The Cahn-Van Heusen chestnut "To Love and Be Loved" is gently rendered as a perfect cocktail hour ballad. Fredette's support is solid and competent, providing the singer an environment for her pristine vocal delivery of this most attractive recital.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
4 voted

ogutierrez   User offline   21 December 2015 21:52

Thank you vm

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.