Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Vassar Clements - Livin With The Blues (2004) {HD Tracks}

21-08-2016, 12:59
Blues | Country | FLAC / APE | HD & Vinyl

Title: Livin With The Blues
Year Of Release: 2004
Label: Acoustic Disc
Genre: Country, Bluegrass, Blues
Quality: FLAC (Tracks) {24bit/96 kHz}
Total Time: 01:01:06 min
Total Size: 1,2 Gb

While the extraordinary fiddler Vassar Clements is known for his countless recordings in the world of bluegrass and country music, he's also a convincing blues interpreter. He is matched with a wide-ranging group of musicians and repertoire by producer David Grisman in this delightful Acoustic Disc CD. Clements' playing takes on an almost conversational tone throughout a good part of these sessions, while he is obviously having a rollicking good time with his fellow players, no matter the setting. The legendary bluesman Robert Johnson's "Beatrice Got a Phonograph" is an amazing duet by Clements with Roy Rogers (who sings while playing an amplified Martin guitar), though it is the leader's personal sound that leaves a lasting impression. His fiddle almost seems to smirk throughout Tampa Red's "Dead Cats on the Line," which is also highlighted by Bob Brozman's guitar and Bobby Cochran's lead vocals, with Norton Buffalo providing harmony. It's hard to beat the interplay between Clements, Buffalo (on harmonica), and guitarist Bob Brozman in the trio rendition of "Keep Your Lamp Trimmed and Burning." Clements and Brozman evidently concocted "Fiddlin' and Faddlin'" in the studio, with Brozman also playing percussion on his guitar behind the leader's blistering introductory solo. Elvin Bishop adds a touch of humor with his amusing originals, including the down-home blues "Dirty Drawers" and the funky "That's My Thing," adding Norton Buffalo's soulful harmonica. Maria Muldaur's gritty vocals shine in Doc Watson's "Honey Babe Blues" and "I Ain't Gonna Play No Second Fiddle." Dave Matthews is at the piano for the infectious "Mambo Boogie" (co-written by Clements, Matthews, and Buffalo). All in all, this is a very entertaining meeting by a group of seasoned musicians.

Vassar Clements - Livin With The Blues (2004) {HD Tracks}
1. Cypress Grove
2. Dirty Drawers
3. Honey Babe Blues
4. Mambo Boogie
5. Phonograph Blues
6. Green Onions
7. Rube's Blues
8. Dead Cats On The Line
9. That's my Thing
10. Keep Your Lamp Trimmed and Burning
11. I Ain't Gonna Play No Second Fiddle
12. Mama I'm All Out and Down
13. Fiddlin' and Faddlin'
14. Cool Drink Of Water
15. Don't Stand Behind A Mule

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted

xichon   User offline   20 December 2015 19:38

Nice. Post. Thx..

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.