Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Elvin Bishop - Don't Let The Bossman Get You Down! (1991/2006)

20-12-2015, 16:03
Music | Blues | Rock | FLAC / APE

Title: Don't Let The Bossman Get You Down!
Year Of Release: 1991/2006
Label: Alligator Records
Genre: Blues, Modern Electric Blues
Quality: Flac
Total Time: 40:03
Total Size: 244 Mb (covers)


01. Fannie Mae
02. Don't Let The Bossman Get You Down - 2:49
03. Murder In The First Degree
04. Kissing In The Dark
05. My Whiskey Head Buddies
06. Stepping Up In Class
07. You Got To Rock 'Em
08. Come On In This House
09. Soul Food
10. Rollin' With My Blues
11. Devil's Slide
12. Just Your Fool

Elvin Bishop's significant blues contributions are undeniable. On "Bossman", his insubstantial vocals and garish rhythms do not live up to expectation. Bishop is all about having fun, and for forty minutes his guitar, vocals, and songwriting are amusing and entertaining. Due to his light-hearted lyrics, you stop taking him, and his creative band, seriously. However, since entertainment is supposed to make you forget your grim problems, this just may be the temporary cure you are searching for. Half of the songs are originals. The other half are covers by the likes of Oden, McCracklin, and Jacobs.
Bishop's lighthearted takes on classics like "Come On In This House" don't work well. "Fannie Mae" contains poignant harp and rockin' slide that cuts like Elmore James. All along, the jumpy horns sound extracted from the Big Joe Turner revue. Bishop plays heavy guitar atop a bopping rhythm on "Kissing In The Dark." Here the sax blows into the stratosphere, while the rest of the horns contain New Orleans seasoning. The instrumental, "Devil's Slide" is a highlight. Bishop can tell stories with the best of them. That is exactly what he does on "My Whiskey Head Buddies" which displays his boisterous showmanship. "You Got To Rock 'Em" contains rappin' rock with a funk groove. Lyrics like: ("They got to like you better than liquor, dope, and watching TV") reveals Bishop's mindset on what his audience comes to see/hear, and why he is such a flamboyant showman.
Bishop's vocals cackle, but his guitar entices. Randy Forrester's piano is outstanding. In fact, it is omnipresent, and fills gaps the band doesn't know exists. These 12 tunes can be classified as blues-based roots rock, although overall Bishop is difficult to label on this album. That is a complement. Although this is a really good release, it doesn't stand-out much in a genre that is overrun with superb guitarists.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.