Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Direct Hits - The House of Secrets [Expanded Edition] (2004)

17-12-2015, 14:30
Music | Pop | Rock | Indie | FLAC / APE

Title: The House of Secrets
Year Of Release: 2004 [1986]
Label: Blaamm! Records [BLAAMM 503]
Genre: Mod Revival, Indie Pop, Power Pop
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks +.cue,scans)
Total Time: 62:58 min
Total Size: 154 mb / 445 mb

One of the better latter-day bands from the '80s mod revival, the Direct Hits were more strongly influenced by psychedelia and sunshine pop than many of their peers, though the group members were certainly capable of tough, guitar-heavy freakbeat homages when they were of a mind. The Direct Hits were formed in late 1980 by Colin Swan (bass) and Geno Buckmaster (guitar) after the breakup of their band the Exits, who had released one single on Lightning Records after six years together. Joining with drummer Steve Warburton, Swan and Buckmaster began playing out as the Direct Hits, though Warburton was fired after only a few gigs, in part because he refused to cut his hair, much to the annoyance of the mods who attended their shows. Ian "Griff" Griffiths took over on drums, and in late 1981 the Direct Hits were approached by Dan Treacy, formerly of the Television Personalities, who was launching his own label, Whaam! Records. By the fall of 1982, the Direct Hits had released their first single for Whaam!, "Modesty Blaise" b/w "Sunny Honey Girl," and Brian Grover had replaced Griffiths on the drums. In 1983, the Direct Hits began work on their debut album, though Grover dropped out of the group for several months during the recording, and Griffiths ended up playing most of the drum tracks on the sessions. The first album, Blow Up, was released in June 1984, but Whaam! was having financial problems and the Direct Hits were soon looking for a new label. They formed their own Direct Records label for the 1986 single "She Really Didn't Care" b/w "Christopher Cooper," while Direct Records handled the second Direct Hits full-length, The House of Secrets, which was produced by Dave Goodman, the Sex Pistols' onetime producer and soundman.


01 - My Car
02 - I Start Counting
03 - I've Got Eyes
04 - She's Not Herself Today
05 - Miles Away
06 - (Just Like An) Abacus
07 - She's Not Here, There or Anywhere
08 - Is There Anyone There?
09 - Last Night I Saw the Sunrise
10 - Heat and Sun
11 - Christina
12 - The Light That Shines in

Bonus Tracks
13 - So Sad, I Don't Feel Too Bad (Studio Version)
14 - Last Night I Sawthe Sunrise (Demo)
15 - She Really Didn't Care (Unreleased Version)
16 - I've Got Eyes (Alternate Version)
17 - I Start Counting (Unreleased Version)
18 - Angelina
19 - From the Underworld

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.