Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Silvestre Revueltas - Ensemble Works (2015)

15-12-2015, 19:06
Music | Classical Music | FLAC / APE

Title: Ensemble Works
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Neos
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC
Total Time: 49:55
Total Size: 253 MB


01 Caminando (On a poem by Nicolás Guillén) (1937) 03 :40
02 Ocho Por Radio (1933) 05 :44
03 Planos (1934) 07 :15
04 First Little Serious Piece (1940) 02 :48
05 Second Little Serious Piece (1940) 01 :36
06 Toccata (sin fuga) (1933) 03 :37
07 Vuelvo a ti, soledad, agua vacía 01 :50
08 Junio me dio la voz 01 :47
09 Era mi corazón, piedra de río 02 :23
10 No sé por que piensas tú? (On a poem by Nicolás Guillén) (1937) 03 :31
11 Baile 03 :46
12 Duelo 04 :09
13 Son 03 :26
14 Sensemayá 04 :25

Silvestre Revueltas (1899-1940) is considered, alongside Carlos Chávez, the most important and quintessentially Mexican composer of his country from the first half of the 20th century. With the liberation of Mexico from the dictatorship of Porfirio Díaz, artists strove to create a culture marked by national identity. In contrast to other composers, however, Revueltas did not quote from the folk and dance music of his country; nor did he attempt, like Chávez, to reconstruct the music of the original inhabitants. Far more than that, Revueltas discovered the purely Mexican character within himself and his surroundings: present-day Mexico with its festivals and markets, its street music, landscapes, the habits and customs of its people. These are reflected in the titles of many of his compositions: Caminos (Streets), Ventanas (Windows), Esquinas (Street Corners), Colorines (named after the flaming trees that brighten up the otherwise dark landscape of Mexico). Thus Revueltas arrived at a highly original and powerful musical language with complex polyrhythms, brilliant melodies, extraordinary harmonies, fascinating timbres, and terse, dense structures. His most important work is considered to be Homenaje a Federico García Lorca for chamber orchestra, which is also one of his most Mexican and modern pieces (performed here). Revueltas achieved this connection between nationalism and modernism especially in his chamber works, in which the smaller ensembles allowed him to focus more sharply on timbre, dynamics, rhythmic articulation, and contrast. His pieces are performed here by the Ensemble KNM Berlin: Rebecca Lenton, flute; Gudrun Reschke, oboe; Winfried Rager and Helge Harding, clarinets; Theo Nabicht, bass clarinet; Roman Reznik, bassoon; Daniel Costello, horn; William Forman and Naama Golan, trumpets; Daniel Ploeger, trombone; Robin Hayward, tuba; Angela Gassenhuber, piano; Dirk Rothbrust and Alexandre Babel, percussion; Ekkehard Windrich and Elfa Rún Kristinsdóttir, violins; Ringela Riemke, violoncello; and Arnulf Ballhorn, double bass; with Gabriel Urrutia, baritone/speaker and Roland Kluttig, conductor.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted

tiger   User offline   15 December 2015 19:21

Thanks a lot.

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like

gibheid   User offline   15 December 2015 23:34

Thanks sddd!

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.