Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Alabama - Southern Drawl [Deluxe Edition] (2015)

9-12-2015, 06:20
Music | Country | FLAC / APE

Title: Southern Drawl [Deluxe Edition]
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Cracker Barrel exclusive, BMG [538162122]
Genre: Country
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue+.log) | 320
Total Time: 59:30
Total Size: 556 MB | 253 MB (Scans)

Southern Drawl arrives 14 years after Alabama's last secular album, 2001's When It All Goes South -- a record that reached four on Billboard's Country Albums chart but is largely forgotten -- but a better way to put it into context is that it is the group's first record since Brad Paisley kick-started a new millennial Alabama revival thanks to his 2011 hit "Old Alabama." The group -- now down to the founding trio of Randy Owen, Jeff Cook, and Teddy Gentry -- did attempt to ride that wave in 2013 via the showy tribute album Alabama & Friends, a record mainly notable for getting the band back out on the road, a process that eventually led to Southern Drawl. Opening with a heavy-footed stumble through all the things that make the South great -- a parade of signifiers that could double for the best things of Red States -- Southern Drawl doesn't get off to an auspicious start; buttressed with big beats and cranked guitars, Alabama don't sound defiant as much as a group of greying uncles squeezing themselves into skinny jeans to prove they're hip. Trying too hard is an unfortunate undercurrent on the record, whether it's on the clunky cornpone novelty "Hillbilly Wins the Lotto Money," the sticky wedding dance wannabe anthem "I Wanna Be There," or "American Farmer," an attempt to reignite the workingman spark of "40 Hour Week (For a Living)." Such down-the-middle numbers overshadow much subtler and nicer moments scattered throughout the record, moments that usually arrive in the soft, sweet ballads that give the group plenty of opportunity to showcase its gentle, interwoven harmonies. These slow tunes more than the over-pumped rockers feel the truest to old Alabama.


01 - Southern Drawl
02 - Wasn't Through Lovin' You Yet
03 - This Ain't Just A Song
04 - As Long As There's Love
05 - Back To The Country
06 - Hillbilly Wins The Lotto Money
07 - Come Find Me
08 - No Bad Days
09 - One On One
10 - American Farmer
11 - It's About Time
12 - Footstompin' Music
13 - I Wanna Be There
14 - Backwoods Boogie (Bonus)
15 - I've Got Some Lovin' (Bonus)

Alabama - Southern Drawl [Deluxe Edition] (2015)

Alabama - Southern Drawl [Deluxe Edition] (2015)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.