Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Ian Matthews - Stealin' Home (Expanded Edition) (2014)

3-12-2015, 20:34
Folk | Pop | Rock | FLAC / APE

Title: Stealin' Home (Expanded Edition)
Year Of Release: 1978/2014
Label: Omnivore Recordings
Genre: Folk Rock, Pop Rock
Quality: 320 kbps | FLAC
Total Time: 01:19:05
Total Size: 181 mb | 424 mb


01 - Gimme an Inch
02 - Don't Hang Up Your Dancing Shoes
03 - King of the Night
04 - Man in the Station
05 - Let There Be Blues
06 - Carefully Taught
07 - Stealin' Home
08 - Shake It
09 - Yank and Mary (Smile)
10 - Slip Away
11 - Sail My Soul
12 - Tigers Will Survive [live]
13 - Stealin' Home [live]
14 - Shake It [live]
15 - Just One Look [live]
16 - King of the Night [live]
17 - Man in the Station [live]
18 - Don't Hang Up Your Dancing Shoes [live]
19 - Call the Tunes [live]
20 - Payday [live]

Following two less than thrilling releases for Columbia, Stealin' Home is somewhat of a return to form for Ian Matthews. Recorded for Rockburgh Records in the U.K., and co-produced by Matthews, along with label owner and former cohort Sandy Roberton, the album veers away from the tepid jazz-tinged pop of its predecessor, continuing what seemed to be a natural progression that was hinted at with Some Days You Eat the Bear in 1974, and then to a greater degree with the lackluster Go for Broke two years later. The pop and light R&B of the disappointing Go for Broke is more fully realized here, showing Matthews in a much more flattering light. Once again he chooses a handful of good covers, including songs by Robert Palmer, John Martyn, and Terence Boylan, to round out and complement his own material. It's a nice, pure pop treatment of Boylan's "Shake It," that gave Matthews his first Top 40 hit in over seven years (number 13), but it's a pair of pre-rock & roll numbers that are responsible for two of Stealin' Home's most inspired moments. A warm a cappela arrangement of Rogers and Hammerstein's "Carefully Taught," from the musical South Pacific, evokes both the beauty and depth of the song, while the interpolation of Richard Stekol's contemporary "Yank and Mary" with the old standard "Smile," has a sort of melancholy sweetness. Elsewhere, cuts such as Palmer's "Gimme an Inch," Boylan's "Don't Hang Up Your Dancing Shoes," and Martyn's "Man in the Station" are appealing enough, but seem a bit diluted when placed next to the original versions. Released by Mushroom Records in North America, Stealin' Home, though not necessarily essential, is still worth a listen.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.