Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


The Mott The Hoople, Ian Hunter - Old Records Never Die (Anthology) (2008)

24-11-2015, 15:16
Rock | FLAC / APE

Title: Old Records Never Die (Anthology)
Year Of Release: 2008
Label: Shout! Factory
Genre: Hard Rock, Glam Rock
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
Total Time: 01:08:52 + 01:10:07
Total Size: 980 Mb


CD1: The Mott The Hoople
01. Rock and Roll Queen (5:08)
02. Walkin' with a Mountain (3:50)
03. Whisky Women (3:40)
04. Sweet Angeline (4:52)
05. Death May Be Your Santa Claus (4:53)
06. All the Young Dudes (3:33)
07. Sweet Jane (4:22)
08. Sucker (5:02)
09. All the Way from Memphis (5:04)
10. Honaloochie Boogie (2:45)
11. Violence (4:50)
12. Ballad of Mott the Hoople (26th March 1972, Zurich) (5:26)
13. Roll Away the Stone (3:09)
14. Crash Street Kidds (4:31)
15. Golden Age of Rock 'n' Roll (3:25)
16. Saturday Gigs (4:20)

CD2: Ian Hunter
01. Once Bitten Twice Shy
02. Who Do You Love
03. 3,000 Miles from Here
04. You Nearly Did Me In
05. Justice of the Peace
06. Cleveland Rocks
07. Just Another Night
08. Ships
09. When the Daylight Comes
10. Old Records Never Die
11. Central Park N' West
12. Speechless
13. Women's Intuition (with Mick Ronson)
14. Artful Dodger
15. Still Love Rock and Roll
16. Words (Big Mouth

After all these years, Mott the Hoople and their iconoclastic frontman, Ian Hunter, may not have gotten the true box set they deserve, but finally there is a cross-licensed double-disc anthology courtesy of Shout Factory. These two discs contain 32 cuts referencing Mott from the hardscrabble Atlantic years through their Columbia Records heyday and into Ian Hunter's critically celebrated solo career (he did score a hit album with 1979's You're Never Alone with a Schizophrenic), which was immortalized by the hit "Cleveland Rocks," a version of which became the theme song for The Drew Carey Show. The first disc is completely devoted to Mott, showcasing one tune each from their Atlantic albums (including "Death May Be Your Santa Claus," "Rock and Roll Queen," and "Walking with a Mountain"). The set then dives headlong into the glorious Columbia albums and virtually every song you'd ever want is here -- "All the Young Dudes," "Sweet Jane," "Roll Away the Stone," "Honaloochie Boogie," "All the Way from Memphis," etc. -- with the exception of two: missing are the sultry original Mott version of the Bad Company hit (writer Mick Ralphs was in both bands) "Ready for Love" and the poignant lament "I Wish I Was Your Mother." These are tough omissions, but you won't notice when listening. Disc two is devoted to Ian Hunter's solo material, again across label lines, so Columbia as well as Chrysalis tracks are here -- including a cut each from the never issued in the United States LPs All American Alien Boy and Overnight Angels, all the way through to his Yep Roc debut, 2007's Shrunken Heads. Sure, there are a few cuts that might have made the grade but that's quibbling, since all of what's here does deserve to be. This is an excellent collection with great sound and good historical notes, and is sold for a dynamite price point.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.